Blush logo

You Don't Need Makeup!

Why Walking Out in No Makeup Can Be Liberating

By Sydney websterPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I started wearing makeup my freshman year of high school. I was so excited. Makeup for me was my door into adulthood; into being taken seriously. I felt that these would be my moments to shine.

I started off light; a little concealer, powder, and mascara, poof—I was out the door in seconds. However, as I got older, girls my age started to wear more makeup, and I became more self-conscious (as I have always suffered from acne), so I too began to pile on the makeup and cover all my insecurities, but there were some I couldn't hide: My stretch marks, my gap in my two front teeth, and the fact that I wasn't paper thin like most girls. But I still felt that I was 100x prettier with makeup on than without, and I never left the house without it.

Once I got into college, I started waking up to go to class, still putting an ass-ton of product on my face. But about a week before classes started, I met a man... (I say a man because he was nine years older than me). On all our dates, I wore makeup, and the first night I slept over I forgot to pack makeup, so not only did I fall asleep in it, but I couldn't re-apply. So when I got into the shower, all of what I had on went down the drain and I had to face this man who I was heavily falling in love with, with nothing on my face. All my insecurities out for a show. I felt bare. But when he saw me, he told me I still looked the same, if not more beautiful. I felt my heart skip a beat. He loved me for all my flaws, and I began to love myself even more.

My message is you don't need makeup, and not wearing it can actually feel liberating. Here are reasons why:

1: You can get out the door so much faster!

Imagine you don't have to wake up an extra hour or maybe (if you are really good) 30 mins earlier. You can sleep for longer and not have to rush out the door if it took longer than expected.

2: You don't need to please anyone.

Being loved by yourself in your own skin is enough, so why put makeup on to impress people? Now if you just want to then go ahead, but you don't need to.

3: Not wearing makeup helps your skin heal.

Not wearing makeup can get rid of a lot of those acne pumps you try to cover. By placing makeup on the skin, it can clog pores and cause acne or blackheads to occur, so by not wearing any, it allows your skin to breathe and heals itself without having to fight off the makeup you put on it day after day.

4: You can save so much money.

By wearing makeup every day you, will have to spend money about every month to buy new tools or makeup products.

5: You can feel like yourself.

There are probably many more that can be thrown on the list, but none as important as making you feel free and confutable. Don't feel like you need to apply consoler or eyeshadow to get someones attention. Because the right person will come along and love you for all your insecurities.

Love you all,

Sydney

P.S: I'm not saying wearing makeup is bad or that you shouldn't wear it. Heck, I still do. All I am saying is that if you are wearing it because you don't feel like enough, then I hope this helped you realize that you don't need it, and that you can love yourself without it, and people will too. And if they don't, then they don't need to be in your life. But if you do wear makeup and its just because you like it and its fun then power to you. I just hope this helped a lot of girls and men realize that you don't need to cover up to be loved. Because you already are!

makeup
Like

About the Creator

Sydney webster

Just a girl finding her way in the world. Avid book reader, and love to read new material! My goal is to share a variety of books and reviews for you all! I look forward to going on many adventures with you guys!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.