Blush logo

Wrinkle Worries

Mastering Effective Skincare—Starting Out

By Anabel HudsonPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like
What does my skin need, and will I see the results I want?

Aging is an inevitable part of life. Some age gracefully, whilst other go to extreme lengths to maintain a semblance of youth. Reality kindly gave me a bitch-slap when I hit 35! I could see subtle changes, and kicked myself for not taking my skin more seriously in my younger years. Thanks to the invention of the magnified mirror every little bit of wear and tear was highlighted, in full HD!

I dabbled into the world of skincare and was quickly confused with what products I needed, how to use them, and what benefits they would have. Everywhere you look are adverts claiming to be the next wonder product; social media, before, during and after YouTube videos, TV commercials, Infomercials, TV shopping channels, magazines, and in-store marketing to name a few. I would watch hundreds of YouTube videos from a range of influencers and wonder if the products actually worked, or if they were being paid to promote a useless product just to pocket some coin?

I brought a few products, literally used them once or twice, and then they would end up collecting dust on a shelf. There was a lack of clear information regarding active ingredients, which ones were needed to tackle specific problems, and how they could react with my skin type. Now, there is extensive information, and you can make a more informed decision on what could work for you. It has taken four years, but I am now very happy with my bespoke skincare routine. I have been following my routine for about three months, and I am seeing encouraging results already. I researched (heavily) to understand what products would work on my areas of concern. I also wanted to make sure that the combination of products I was using played nicely together. Ultimately, I wanted a regime that was easy to do, had a positive effect and did not result in my face falling off!

Target Areas and Concerns

There are several areas which I wanted to target:

  • Enlarged Pores
  • Dry/Dehydrated Skin
  • Uneven Skin Tone (dull)
  • Redness
  • Sensitivity
  • Fine Lines and Wrinkles (especially on forehead and around/between eyes)
  • Scarring on Forehead (from an accident)
  • Lack of Ski

Researching Ingredients

Based on my problem areas, I found that there were several ingredients which I needed to consider using:

  • Vitamin C - Boosts the skin's collagen production: firmer, plumper skin, smooth out fine lines and wrinkles, antioxidant properties which help fight free radicals and damage caused by UV radiation.
  • Vitamin E - Helps reduce the appearance of scars, moisturizes and softens skin, antioxidant properties.
  • Retinol - Derivative of Vitamin A: visibly diminish the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, increase firmness, improve uneven skin tone and smooth/refine the skin's surface, enhance collagen production.
  • Argireline - Inhibits the movement of facial muscles to diminish the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.
  • Matrixyl - Boost production of collagen, elastin and hyaluronic acid, aids in filling fine lines and wrinkles.
  • BHA/AHA - Skin exfoliator: Peel away the surface of the skin, even out skin tone and smooth skin texture.
  • Ferulic Acid - Reduces the effects of damaging free radicals, enhance the stability and efficacy of Vitamin C and E.
  • Squalane - Boost moisture, promote elasticity, support healing and can help reduce skin inflammation and irritation, naturally antibacterial and protection from oxidative damage.

Armed with the above list, I had to work out what products and strength levels I needed.

I also needed to create a routine which could be easily followed as well as actively tackling my problem areas.

Creating a Routine!

I found that a single routine was not going to work! I needed a morning routine as well as an evening one. I wanted to be able to mix and match certain products, to ensure that their benefits could be maximized. I also wanted to be able to add in more products when needed i.e sheet or gel masks etc.

Some products are more effective during the day whilst others at night. Some degraded significantly in sunlight, and others were engineered to absorb into the skin over several hours, instead of instantly. Some even caused the skin to become more sensitive to sunlight and increased the risk of sunburn. I admit it was turning into a minefield, and I was increasingly concerned that I would be damaging my skin, instead of taking care of it!

I started researching the order in which products should be used, when they should be used, and how to use them properly. I did not realize that the sequence of application was so important. Applying product in a methodical order ensures that your skin receives the full benefits. Water-based products should be applied before oil-based products. Vitamin C cannot be used in conjunction with certain ceramides and peptides etc. I would highly recommend thoroughly researching each product you intend on using, to ensure that you are not going to cause any irritation or inflammation.

Feeling more confident and informed, I decided that the following routines would work for me:

Morning Routine

  1. Cleanser
  2. Antioxidant Serum
  3. Eye Cream
  4. Moisturizer
  5. Sun Screen

Evening Routine

  1. Double Cleanse
  2. Toners & Boosters
  3. Eye Cream
  4. Serums
  5. Oils
  6. Moisturizer

All I had to do now was work out what products to buy and where they fit into my routines. My next story will be about my morning routine, why I choose specific products, pitfalls I experienced and the benefits I am experiencing.

skincare
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.