Blush logo

Stop Overhyping Glossier

Send your Glossier roasts my way, thanks!

By N (just n)Published 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

I've seen article after article that praises Glossier. People are calling it "THE" brand for millennials.

All I can say to that, is I sure as hell hope not.

First, let me say that I completely acknowledge that Glossier has the goods. I've tried one of their masks, and their lip gloss and not gonna lie—their products hit different. Their social media branding is on it and feels just right when it comes to what millennials are looking for when it comes to trends, poignant, not over-bearing and just slightly trendy.

But for makeup that does the bare minimum, it's a little expensive.

My friends love Glossier's "Boy Brow," marketed as an "all-in-one brow fluffer, filler and shaper" on the Glossier website, but for .11 oz of product, it's $16 ... Excuse me?

Glossier is an interesting brand because if you look at their marketing techniques they're definitely targeting a certain demographic. That is young, white, and beautiful.

Glossier markets themselves as a makeup brand that's "casual" and "uncomplicated," when, let's be real ... The makeup barely EXISTS in the first place.

When they do the before and after in their Facebook videos, tell me, do you see an actual difference?

This video for the "Cherry Bomb Dotcom" really sends me. It really does. The "Bomb Dotcom" retails for a cool $12 but you could get the same color with the cherry-flavored Chapstick that might retail for $2 at your local Walgreens. No tea, no shade.

The whole point of makeup (for myself and many others) is artistry, and obviously adding to what you've got. I certainly hope when people think of what the makeup of the future looks like they don't keep it as boring as Glossier.

While Glossier is certainly a brand that many of us are looking at, I think there's good reason for many of us to keep our distance from the boring brand when it comes down to it.

For me, if I'm investing in high-quality, long-lasting makeup, it's worth it to dish out a few extra bucks that I could've saved somewhere else. But there's something slightly off-kilter about paying a little bit more for Glossier, because the money doesn't seem to go towards the relatively simple packaging or the makeup itself.

Could you imagine a world in which people realize that Dollar Tree Vaseline provides the same effect as their weird gel highlight face gloss? Or better yet when they realize that E.L.F. has a $3 brow spool with the clear gel that provides nearly the same hold as "Boy Brow"?

Glossier was somehow able to come along with makeup, that's not really makeup at all, and make it trendy. How? I have naturally thick brows, and I've had to fight the urge to tweeze them into oblivion these past few years. Thick brows (and I'm talking thick with three c's), haven't been popping for a minute now. But when an overpriced, marketing ploy with a solid Instagram aesthetic comes along, you're all on board huh?

Et tu brute? (And you, Brutus?)

I think a step towards minimalism is, in a way, a glorified version of modesty, and I'm over it, to be honest. Bring on the maximalism, the bold shades and the exaggerated camp-esque techniques of yester-year that make headlines for being too much. 2019 is the year for BOLD, buh-bye Glossier!

makeup
Like

About the Creator

N (just n)

I'm a twenty-something that's coming back from an existential crisis. Trying to figure out life, love, careers and what this is all for.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.