Blush logo

Stereotypical Tattoo?

Are there such things as stereotypical tattoos?

By Amethyst HayesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

There are a few tattoos that people would call the stereotypical tattoo; the tattoo that everyone one has. My first Tattoo, a lot of people might say is a stereotypical one. I’ll admit my first tattoo is not a unique one. A lot of people get a tattoo of the moon and stars, but just because a lot of people have the same kind of tattoo does not mean that they all look the same.

The moon and stars was my first tattoo and a Birthday present from my mom. I had been wanting a tattoo since I was around 16 years old. I also had been thinking of the tattoo I wanted to get since then as well. So you could say I put a few years of thought into the tattoo I wanted. It was special to me for so many reasons. My mom bought it for me and she also drew it up for me. I also helped her design and figure out what it was going to look like. This collaboration effort with my mom is largely what made this tattoo so special to me.

My tattoo is one of a kind you won’t be able to find another one exactly like it. As I said earlier my mother drew up the tattoo and that in itself makes it a not so common tattoo. I got the tattoo because I am a night owl. I always liked the nighttime it seems way more peaceful and calm than in the daytime; at least in my town. I love to stargaze and watching the different phases of the moon. The moon and stars just always fascinated me and made me happy whenever I look up at them. It makes me realize that my world is bigger than the planet I am on now. I got a piece of artwork on my body that makes me happy and brings me a lot of joy and memories.

Is there really such a thing as a stereotypical tattoo? Are there tattoos that everyone gets? The answer to that to me is yes and no. Some people do get tattoos because everyone else has that tattoo and they might be at a loss on what to get. So they end up getting the first tattoo they find in a google search which usually is the most popular ones. Just because a tattoo is popular does not mean that it is not unique in reason style or memories to the person wearing it. People might get the tattoo because it was easy to find but it could also be because it has a special meaning to them.

In the past, there have been other tattoos that I wanted to get. I told people my ideas for them and some of them were popular tattoos so people would tell me that I should not get that tattoo because it a tattoo that a lot of other people have. It discouraged me from getting them which is really sad. They were tattoos I wanted to get because they had a special meaning to me and because of the opinions of others and their popularity I did not get them. I think we should stop telling people that a tattoo is stereotypical. People should be able to get the tattoos they want because they might be getting that tattoo because it has a special meaning to them. Whether that be they got it to mark a special occasion or maybe they got a picture that made them happy or they simply just like the design. We need to stop telling people that their tattoo is not unique just because a lot of other people decided to get that same tattoo.

art
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Hayes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.