Blush logo

Skincare Routine

How I Take Care of My Skin

By Anesi IgebuPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Growing up, my skin had always been clear and smooth and it is something I’m grateful for. But recently, my face began to get oily and I would have a few pimples coming out now and then, at a point I even had this annoying rash on my forehead but I think that was due to school stress. I tried using medicated powder but it was of no use, I finally got this medicated soap called ‘Tetmosol’, it cleared the rash but I still had pimples and my face was rough still, especially in my T zone (T zone includes the forehead, the nose, and the chin, because they form a T). I didn’t do anything about it at first, after all, my pimples were gone, right?

However, my sister was not having it and could not stand my face looking like that. I soon began to get uncomfortable too and decided to do something about it.

In this post, I will be sharing my skincare routine with you guys which I started late last year, in December. It is a step by step procedure on how I take care of my face, I do this once or twice a week because my skin isn’t naturally rough and I don’t really want to expose it to chemicals so often.

1. Scrub:

I scrub my face with the good old St. Ives Apricot Scrub. I dispense a good amount on my fingertips and apply on my face in circular motion for about sixty seconds and then I rinse it off with warm water and leave my face to air dry or I wipe my face with a clean towel. Air drying is actually the best way to dry your face.

This scrub is quite affordable and available at your local store or supermarket.

2. Mask:

I use Beauty Formulas Clay Mask. It contains activated charcoal and natural kaolin clay which combine to act as a magnet to draw out dirt and other impurities from the skin. After scrubbing, I apply the mask on my face, avoiding my eyes and lip area, then I leave the mask to dry up. When the mask dries up, I rinse off with clean warm water and air dry.

I got this at a cheap price at ShopRite. It is also available at your local store.

3. Cleanse and Tone:

I use Thayer's Rose Petal Witch Hazel with Aloe Vera. This is actually an alcohol-free toner but I use it as both a cleanser and a toner.

When my face is dried completely after washing off the mask, I apply rose water on my face with a cosmetic pad in a circular motion.

This was given to me by my sister, her way of helping get clear skin and I am ever grateful but I think it could be found at a supermarket also.

4. Moisturize:

I use acne.org AHA+ lotion. This improves skin texture and it leaves the skin feeling smooth.

I use it mostly at night because it increases the skin’s sensitivity to the sun. If at all, it should be used during the day, apply sunscreen before applying the lotion. I would recommend one with an SPF of 30.

5. Treat:

This is optional and used only when I notice spots or pimples popping out. I use acne.org treatment gel which contains Benzoyl Peroxide, an active ingredient that dries them up really fast and is very good. Just apply the gel on the spot where you have acne or pimples.

I also got my acne.org products from my sister.

And...that’s all about my skin care routine! I really hope I’ve helped in one way or the other.

Have you used any of these before and how did it work for you?

With love, Anesii.

face
Like

About the Creator

Anesi Igebu

A black, beautiful and bold woman who loves to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.