Blush logo

ShopNenes: Where Hair Care Reigns Supreme (UPDATED)

How a millennial's frustration with striving to find a way to protect her natural hair inspired a growing online business

By Ghezal AmiriPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
5

UPDATE: This article was originally published in March 2020. It has since been updated to reflect ShopNenes' new endeavors in 2021 and onward.

***

When Onesia Thompson walked into a popular mega store a few years ago to purchase hair care products, the experience was... Not that great, as she eloquently described it to me:

"Okay, I can't properly tell you how frustrating it was trying to find something that a) didn't eat away at my hair, b) was reasonably priced, c) was made with the focus being on my kind of hair and d) - z) didn't look like complete trash."

The 20-something year old ultimately decided to do something about the lack of effective products found that suited her natural locks:

"I wanted to protect my hair and I realized the only way I can be satisfied is if I took initiative and made it myself."

From this realization came ShopNenes - Onesia's online Etsy business that she established in 2019 with "a ball of yarn and a dream." Her five-star store boasts over 340 sales and there are no signs of her slowing down anytime soon.

All of her designs are handmade and when an order comes in for a satin scrunchie or a crochet fringe top, she uses her natural talent and ability to create such items.

As someone who can barely thread a needle without needing assistance or calling the paramedics for my (numerous) failed attempts, Onesia's dedicated work ethic and her final products constantly leave me flabbergasted.

I've known Onesia for almost three years. We work in the same office and I can definitively say my professional life would be simply intolerable if I didn't have her hysterically underwhelming banter to look forward to. I am genuinely so proud of her and having the opportunity to shine a spotlight on ShopNenes is an endeavour I will forever be honoured to undertake.

(... She is going to love that).

After setting up a video chat, I asked Onesia a few questions regarding her business, background and what the success of ShopNenes means to her.

What's the name of your business and is there any significance to it?

"The name of my business is ShopNenes. The significance of it is I wanted to have my nickname or my family name, Nene, be included. I wanted buyers to remember the name of my business by hopefully keeping it simple/unique enough for them to think back on with ease."

What does ShopNenes specialize in?

"We specialize in hair products like crochet headbands, satin scrunchies and African-print kente bonnets along with other customizable items."

What inspired you to start it up?

"I've always had a passion to make different items whether it's through sewing or knitting.

My family always encouraged me to start making products I could sell online. At first I was apprehensive to start my own store because I also want others to genuinely like what I have to offer. After about 3 years of brainstorming and trying to come up with what I should make to sell, I decided to focus on what I've been trying to protect and grow my whole life: My natural hair!

I first came up with a satin pillow case and after that, I never wanted to stop. Before I decided to venture online, I've been using a satin pillow case I made for myself and was very impressed with the results. Satin is soft and leaves little to no shedding left on the pillow. While there are other similar products found online, I believe mine to be superior and did not let that stop me from pursuing my passion."

How did growing up in Toronto affect your fashion sense, if any?

"Growing up in Toronto did impact my fashion sense and what it influenced me to make. From an early age I experienced the incredible diversity this city has to offer and I was fortunate to speak with people from all walks of life about our shared experiences. One of these experiences would be how they protect their natural hair.

Learning about this has stuck with me as I grew up and it has a huge impact on how I handle ShopNenes products. All my products are made with what I would personally love to wear so you're getting a distinct Nene flavour with every purchase.

Besides our main products like the satin scrunchies and personalized tumblers (more on that below!), I've also included custom-made crochet outfits to allow my buyers to see their own styles come to life as created by me."

What do your friends and family think about your business?

"They are all extremely supportive with my online business. They help promote my products and actually get me sales by telling everyone they know about it. Many of them have purchased products for themselves or their loved ones.

My parents and siblings are extremely proud of me.

... My little brother hands out my business cards to his friends *laughs, face palms.*

I'm really grateful for the support I received throughout my business but this is only the beginning. Their support means the world to me so I want to do whatever I can to make them proud."

Do you have a personal favourite product?

"My favorite product at the moment is the crochet headband. It is incredibly comfortable and has a variety of colours to pick from."

Tell me about your new addition to ShopNenes: personalized reusable tumblers.

"... I am so excited for this. While I will definitely continue creating hair care items, I wanted to explore other creations that my clients would love.

That's when I decided on customized tumblers. I provide a wide-range of options from your name to other prints like hearts, butterflies, sunflowers, and leopard print.

It is the absolute perfect gift and I've gotten such amazing feedback from everyone on it."

How has it been trying to navigate your business during COVID?

"I can definitively tell you this time has been tough for every single person and for me, it's been a crazy struggle to say the least. Trying to put my absolute best efforts into ShopNenes along with the lay-offs at work...

Let's just say if I didn't have the amazing support from my friends, family and, most importantly, the backing of my spectacular clients, I can't even imagine where I'd be."

What hopes do you have for the future?

"In the future, I hope to be a popular store on Etsy and possibly introduce more products into my store. I would also love to have a popular following on social media."

Could you see yourself potentially running ShopNenes full time?

"Nothing would make me happier than being able to invest all of my time, energy and resources into my business. Just having the opportunity to say 'I run a successful online business' will hopefully inspire other young, Black women to make their dreams into reality. Being a POC in this field certainly comes with a lot of struggles and adversity.

When there is only one Fortune 500 company that is headed by a woman of colour, I realized I must overcome any fears I have if I want to see a change being made.

Call me crazy but I would love to see someone that actually looks like me being responsible for putting out products that appeal to someone like me.

I can only hope that future clients fall in love with the products I put out. I do my absolute best with every item in ShopNenes and if it were not for my loyal clientele, I would definitely not be where I am today so I thank them from the bottom of my heart for their continued support."

an ultra HD pic of us during a Work Bowling Night c. pre-COVID

Thank you for talking with me today, friend

"It's my absolute pleasure, you clever, smart and beautiful person."

(author's note: the above passage may or may not be an accurate summation of what was said during the conclusion of this interview.)

***

Thank you for reading!

Make sure to check out ShopNenes on Etsy:

and follow them on Instagram @Shop.Nenes!

Please check out the other submissions for the Black In Business Challenge as well as Vocal's previous Pay It Forward Challenge to support these remarkably talented retailers!

interview
5

About the Creator

Ghezal Amiri

Afghan-Canadian writer who enjoys witty quips and BTS, proper grammar and Jodie Comer.

I tweet with @MrsBananaPhone because it's the best and beats the rest.

I also have designs: https://www.teepublic.com/user/designingsimple

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.