Blush logo

Sensitive Skin on a Budget

Cheat codes to Sensitive Skin

By AlexaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Sensitive Skin on a Budget
Photo by Diane Helentjaris on Unsplash

Sensitive Skin on a Budget

I'm convinced that I'm the only person on the planet who has this ridiculous skin.

Obviously, that's impossible, but it feels that way.

I have to pay extra attention to the ingredients on every product that comes in contact with my skin. That includes laundry soap and toilet paper.

Most products made for my skin are way out of my budget. It has taken me 10 years and thousands of dollars to find a skin care routine that works best.

The worst enemy to my skin is fragrance. I cannot use anything with scent or dyes.

Laundry Detergent

There are a lot of brands that I could use, but the cheapest one is All Free and Clear.

I always get it from Dollar General. Make sure you download their app! There's always a coupon for this detergent. It's either buy one get one free or a 5 dollar off coupon. This detergent isn't expensive at all. It's like 6 or 7 dollars for the biggest container they have.

Do not add any of those wonderful smelling laundry beads or dryer sheets! Resist the temptation! I wish I knew what it was like for my towels to smell like a field of flowers.

Body Wash

Again, everything that comes in contact with my skin has to be scent free. I use the Dove sensitive skin bar. They do make a liquid of this wash, but the film it leaves on my skin is irritating.

I do not recommend using this on your face. It is specifically made for the rest of your body.

The Dove Sensitive Skin bar comes in a pack of 1,3, or 6. I always get the 6 pack, which is only around 7 dollars. Keep an eye out for those coupons too!

Shampoo/Conditioner

This topic makes me wanna cry. I'll never now what it's like to have hair that smells like a goddess. I can tell you how to have the shinyness and softness of a goddess though!

In this area, I'm still doing trial and error to see what my skin can get away with.

Currently, I'm using the Maui line. Specifically the coconut one because it's the most natural.

You can get these at pretty much any big market stores like Walmart, Publix, Target, Ultra, etc.

Don't come for me when you read those ingredients... It does have my mortal enemy on there... BUT after doing some research, that fragrance ingredient is all natural.

I've been using it for a couple of months and have had no issue.

Here are some other great options:

  • Head and shoulders
  • Dove
  • Baby shampoo
  • Mane and tail

Face wash routine

I'm not happy about the amount of money I have spent trying to find the perfect routine for my face. There are a lot of options, but most of the time, one line or brand does not have every single thing in it to makeup an entire routine.

Too often I have to change my routine because my skin adapts and becomes "immune" to the routine. I don't understand it, so I can't really explain it.

Right now, I'm using the Cleen Beauty line. My skin can handle every product they make and it's finally getting smooth. I'm not sure what all stores sell it, but I get mine from Walmart.

Cleen Beauty is so freaking cheap and it works so well. The face cleansing bar is literally 3 dollars and lasts forever.

Some other facial products you can try:

  • Tarte
  • Baby soap
  • Simple
  • Cereve

Makeup

I could write a book on this section. I'm obsessed with makeup and there's so many wonderful products I'd love to try, but can't, unfortunately. Being a beauty guru and having worse skin than a cactus is challenging. It, also, complicates the whole "balling on a budget" thing too.

The cheapest line I can use is Elf. This is a hit and miss situation. As of right now, I have only tried the matte primer and the camo concealer. I don't have an issue with them, but they aren't for avid makeup wearers or artists, such as myself.

I'll go into greater detail about my favorite products in other stories, but keep in mind that if you have highly sensitive skin, drugstore makeup is not for you!

Here are the makeup brands I'm able to use:

  • Tarte
  • Nars
  • Morphe
  • Bare Minerals
  • Milk
  • Physician's Formula
  • Smashbox

The key to having sensitive skin is being aware and having a routine. Remember all of the things your skin is going to come in contact with and manage. That goes for your towels and bed set.

In the next couple of days, I'll breakdown my facial routine and the exact products I use on my face.

skincare
1

About the Creator

Alexa

All sides of Alexa revealed.

You won't see this side of me anywhere else!

Things you can expect: advice, experiences, life tips, how-to, and Dear Alexa.

Need advice? Email me & your story will be posted within 24 hours!

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.