Blush logo

Protege by Suva Beauty

A Review

By HeetaPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Disclaimer: It's really not that serious. Please don' get offended.

Premise:

  • Price- 46 CAD plus 5.98 shipping
  • Skin Type- Oily
  • Skin Tone/Foundation/Concealer- Medium, 300 in Fenty's Pro Filt'r
  • Eyeshadow Primer- None (don't like to use it)
  • Reason to buy- Came in Boxyluxe subscription box
  • Environmental status: Cruelty free, vegan friendly


Packaging: 0.95/1

Cute, chic, and appealing; I absolutely love the art. The palette has organized the shadows in such a manner that you really cannot go wrong with it. I do wish that the highlighters actually would have been eyeshadows instead, so we could have had two extra colours.

Colour-Story and Theme: 0.7/1

This is a half berry, half warm colour story. Hmm, I really don't know. I am truly on the fence on whether the colour story and theme go hand in hand or not.

When I think the term protege, I think student, I think: 'What's the first lesson?' And as non-professional everyday makeup user, when I think eyeshadow lessons, I think neutrals and smoky eyes. But given that this is today's widespread makeup look, perhaps it makes sense for now.

But I still do think that the theme is more appropriate for a neutral/smoky colour story, before, now, and in the future. But it's not a totally off the mark by any means.

Application: 1/1

I personally found it easy to use. The mattes are on the dry side, but that did not impact how I usually apply my makeup at all. But some people did not like that. The shimmers do require a wet brush, but they are stunning and buttery.

Performance: 1/1

In the winter it has lasted me 4 to 5 hours, which is how long any palette lasts me without an eyeshadow primer; it is good enough for me.

Keep or Return: 0/1

I will probably declutter it; one it has colours that I already have in palettes I enjoy much more, and two I find it a bit too simplistic for myself. But it is good for people who don’t like too much going on in one place.

Conclusion: 3.65/5

Personally, I found this palette not that exciting, or even worth the retail coin, in my humble opinion. This product would cost me 52 CAD. For that price range I can find a colour story similar to this with many more shadows from many high end brands. So I don’t see why I would pick this up, given the alternatives below.

Bare in mind, don’t get trapped by the aesthetic. I personally enjoy the quality, but it does have mixed reviews. So if you’re keen on Suva Beauty, but prefer a wearable eye look, then you might want to give this one a pass.

The point (for me) of an online only retailer is that, it either provides a cheaper alternative, or a unique product, and at times perhaps both. This to me is a packaging gimmick, where you pay a high end price, but get less of the same thing.

While it’s a nice palette, and makes for a cute on the go makeup bag accessory, I’m not in love with it. Frankly speaking, to me it’s not worth 52 CAD.

Having said that, when SUVA releases a unique palette again, I will buy it. Protege has sold me on their quality and brand, just not this palette itself.

Alternatives

Modern Renaissance by ABH: Similar price, more colours, riskier packaging though

Norvina by ABH: I forget if this is still available!

Queen of Hearts by Coloured Raine: A fan favourite. It does go on sale at 40-ish CAD, I believe.

Mauve by Huda Beauty: Better quality, more shadows, and cheaper

Born To Run by Urban Decay: It’s truly my fave at the moment.

I can name a few more, but you get the drift.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Heeta

Books are a passion. Fashion is a hobby. Sociology is my accomplishment. And thus, I bring you, a little bit of this, and a little bit of that. #Unedited #Freestyle #Wordvomit

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.