Blush logo

Natural or Make-up?

I’m preferring the natural look!

By Anita T.Published 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
The wind is my make-up today

We are born into a culture of “ make-up”. Look at Cleopatra! Would she have the same effect on the world without that charcoal eye-make-up? And all her groupies wearing the same look. Enhancing her power. Her LOOK.

What about African tribal warriors without their make-up?

Painting ourselves and using lines represent cultures, beauty, desires, attraction, allure.

I’ve certainly gone through stages of make-up looks. Indulged in dark greys over blue eyes. When I was younger. This look and the red lipstick phase. But not together! That’s more days of our lives soap opera look. My dad would say. I look like a clown. There’s nothing like some on the teeth, too.

But at the end of the day, as I’ve entered my forties I really don’t have the time for make-up.

I’ve an active job and sweating foundation, or wiping off half a lip on my forearm is not practical nor appealing.

I’ve an interesting feature. Being fair skinned and fair hair, naturally, I have skant eyebrows. Haha!

Now dyed brunette, I have to draw on my eyebrows. Daily. My daughters, bless their hearts will kindly inform me: Mum, your eyebrow is smudged. Your eyebrows are crooked!

I see eyebrow make-up as more of an essential part of my FACE. Drawing on eyebrows and feeling more complete.

I’ve honestly looked at myself after a good old-fashioned face wash, moisturise and applied my eyebrows - stepped back - and thought. This looks so refreshing. Maybe it’s my age. We sift through years of information and culture to decide, I think. That I’m still here and therefore this is how I’m going to live my life. MY WAY.

I recall sitting on mums bed while she applied her make-up in the duchess mirror. I would search through her make-up box. Black and filled with colourful delights. There was something alluring about it all. The notion of: I can’t wait to wear this when I’m grown. Trying on a little lipstick and seeing the transformation.

I used to love watching nana pat on her powder foundation. Probably too thick and the wrong tone. But in the 80’s it was about the powder. I loved the scent of the powder. I think it was all about observing, what I would become. I would be a woman one day.

Blue mascara was a fad. Blue eyes and my teenage years blue mascara. Ha! Memories, fads, the-times. Laughing now.

Fashion, style, make-up evolves. I’m not sure when or why? But suddenly society shifts and catches onto a look in droves. Look at lip liner with a lighter lipstick. Now it’s more blended. Which makes sense! However we proudly wore the lip liner and mismatched lipstick.

Mass followers of a style makes it a trend. The other trend phasing out. Still adopted by those stuck in that trend or prefer it. Really it’s all fine. It’s personal. The way I see it is, if you’re on earth now you ARE in trend. Be yourself......and for some that is with concealer, foundation cream, foundation powder, eyeshadows, eyeliner, mascara, lipliner and lipstick.

The routine can settle many into a state of self-acceptance. Before make-up Eek. With make-up. Ready to go! Beautiful NOW, not before.

I’ve been told a couple of times in my youth. You should wear more make-up.

I remember saying to somebody familiar in my twenties. Are you O.K? Realising it was just that she was make-up free! Eek.

Give it time though. And the natural look becomes “your” look and no-one bats an eyelid.

It’s all in the self acceptance. The self belief and I’m wearing less and less make-up. Priorities have shifted and also in the knowing that IT ALL HAS TO COME OFF AT THE END OF THE DAY.

And there YOU are. In the flesh. All the flaws on the complexion. Age spots, moles, freckles, lines, discolour. Is it really so bad? Then I realise we are attractive and O.K this way.

Life and making love and being intimate has passed through history, non stop! During illnesses and war, poverty and suffering. People are finding others attractive. Creating life! In love! Because as humans we are attracted and designed to love one another. That’s my belief. Maybe others, too. Were more people in love and attracted to each other when people wore make-up?? During The Great Depression making babies and falling in love did not cease. Because she wore no make-up! I believe also women believe that’s what the opposite like. I don’t think fundamentally it has anything to do with make-up. Did Eve wear make-up?

I’m so content in my garden, hands in the dirt. Watching flowers bloom. That is the natural look, right there. Nature. So should we be ourselves amongst it, to be organic and authentic?

Hmm I ponder, that tone of pink petal would make a lovely lippy.

But, here I stand saying NO to make-up. No make-up is best. It’s hard to get off at the end of the day. It’s annoying to see remnants of mascara on pillowcases. It’s strange looking at smooth, pale faces and scraggly necks. Running eyeliner makes me cross. Bright lipstick stains on yummy bread-rolls and glasses. I have to drink around the rim. Running from the dinner-date table to reapply lipstick. God forbid my lips look like lips!

How many animals have suffered for our beauty. Poked and prodded for allergic reactions, chemical reactions.

Yes. Make-up is fake and unnatural.

Except I NEED my eyebrows.

makeup
Like

About the Creator

Anita T.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.