Blush logo

My Top 5 Favorite On-the-Go Lipsticks

My favorite lipsticks for those days where I just can't seem to wake up early enough to do my makeup.

By Caitlyn SiehlPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - March 2018
Like

I can't be the only one who just can't wake up early enough to do more than throw on clothes and rush out of the door, right? Well even though I clearly have no time management skills, that doesn't mean I don't like to look nice for work. So what's my secret? How do I show up to work without looking like a swamp monster?

I do my makeup in the car.

Yeah, that's right. If I have a spare four minutes before work, I pull out my lipstick and try to make it look like I didn't just roll out of bed.

Now, not all lipsticks are forgiving enough to accommodate such a rushed lip-job, but some... oh, some are indeed up for the task.

Here is my list of my top five FAVORITE on-the-go lipsticks:

I know what you're thinking: But it's matte! What if I mess up!?

The applicator brush, as you can see above, pretty much does the work for you, and makes it surprisingly difficult to mess up. It glides on effortlessly and dries instantly, which means no messy, red-streaked fingers from constantly wiping away your overdrawn lines. Despite how quickly it dries, the formula is also super forgiving, so if you happen to sneeze while applying and wind up drawing a nice red line from mouth to ear, just keep some napkins on hand to wipe away the mess. It never happened, right?

This color is so high pigment and GORGEOUS, and I love it because it makes me look sophisticated despite having just shoved a power bar into my mouth at a stop sign five minutes prior. I always keep this one in my makeup bag, and it's definitely worth the price.

I have literally had this lipstick for three years and wear it at least three times a week. This color is a super soft rose that makes my whole face look brighter and brings out a natural flush in my cheeks. The formula is super soft and satiny. Infused with shea butter and Vitamin E, this lipstick glides over my mouth and feels almost like chapstick. That's how soft and lovely this is.

I can't recommend it highly enough. You can practically put this on without looking, honestly, (which I may or may not have done). It's not a matte lipstick, so you can easily wipe it off if you change your mind, or if you want to eat an entire hamburger without worrying about getting anything other than ketchup all over your face.

Well, first of all, this lipstick is literally $6, so if nothing else I say convinces you to get it, then the price really should.

The shade I mentioned, "Dark Era," is the one furthest to the right in the image above. It's a dark, brownish plum color that gives off some serious power-boss vibes. Now, I'm not powerful, nor am I a boss, but for the ten hours I wear this lipstick, I believe I'd be capable of convincing at least one person that I have the ability to fire them.

Even though it's very dark and also a matte lipstick, it's easy to put on in the car. I find that filling in my top lip first makes it easier, since that's the part I always mess up on (stupid cupid's bow! Pick a shape!).

Never in my life did I think I'd wear brown lipstick, but Dose of Colors changed my mind. Again, I know it's matte, and maybe some of you are wary about messing it up even WITH ample time, but trust me... just try it. This stuff will stay on your mouth through a nuclear apocalypse. Even if your body is reduced to ash, your lips and this lipstick will remain in tact.

Also, the brush makes it SO easy to apply. Even in the cramped little front seat of my 2012 Honda Civic, I can put this on in two minutes flat. The formula is light and I actually forget I'm wearing it sometimes.

Two minutes. Seriously.

I genuinely never leave the house without this. It's my ultimate on-the-go lipstick, and I keep it in my coat pocket when I come into work in case I need to reapply. It's cheap, smells weirdly good, and I can genuinely put this on in 30 seconds without worrying about it being messy.

So those are my top five favorite on-the-go lipsticks. They can make even the messiest version of me look like she tried a little, which I consider to be the greatest magic act of all time.

makeup
Like

About the Creator

Caitlyn Siehl

Cat mom and spicy jalapeño chip eater.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.