Blush logo

My top 2 skincare ingredients

Perfect for oily skin

By Joe HarrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

When it comes to skincare knowledge I haven't really got the best understanding of the various ingredients and products that are available. However, as I said in my last skincare post, Skincare Faves, my job does allow me to try out all sorts of different products (depending on when I'm in the office again). It has also helped me gain at least a little knowledge of how skincare products work by listening to my wonderful colleagues.

By trying out a number of different products I've been able to figure out what ingredients work best for my oily-combination skin. After finding a few great products with very similar ingredients I'm able to control how oily my forehead gets and attempt to reduce the size of the pores across my T-zone. So, here are the two ingredients I've found work best for my type of skin...

Activated Charcoal

I always class this as the first skincare ingredient that I fully understood once it started to crop up in a number of different skincare ranges. This odd-looking black substance is used for its deep-cleaning properties. It helps draw out impurities and cleanse the face, all while helping to minimise pores.

Another reason I love this ingredient is it has great oil control properties. As someone with oily-combination skin I'm always in need of something that helps me to avoid looking like a greasy shiny mess by mid-day, using products with charcoal in helps me to do so.

Finally, charcoal also happens to be an all-natural and super gentle ingredient, meaning that it is perfect for those with sensitive skin. I notice this with the products I use where they are able to keep my skin feeling oil free without drying out my skin. There has been the odd occasion where I've had to moisturise a little more, but I think I've put that down to other ingredients in the product I used.

Witch Hazel

This is an ingredient I know a little less about than charcoal, but I'm aware that it is definitely a helping factor when applied in the products I've been using. I'm also hoping that I'm correct in this, but the products I have that feature this ingredient also happen to smell super relaxing and pleasing, so there is already one bonus for this ingredient.

Much like charcoal, witch hazel is used to help minimise the visibility of pores, as well as removing dirt and cleansing the face. It is perfect for oily skin as it works alongside charcoal to leave your face feeling cleansed and smooth.

However, I will say that after a little research there have been complaints of products featuring this product drying out the skin. I can attest to this as products I've got that include witch hazel can occasionally leave my face feeling a little dry and tight.

At the end of the day...

As someone with oily-combination skin I will continue to use products that include the above ingredients. Together they are a great couple for cleansing the face, with charcoal helping to draw out dirt and impurities, while witch hazel joins in to help with oil control and minimise pores.

Having now found that witch hazel has been known to dry the skin out, I will just continue to moisturise after cleansing. Yet this is a rule that my colleagues have already made me aware of.

Again, I will re-iterate that I'm by no means a skincare expert, merely someone who has figured out what products and ingredients work best for me. In the future I may find something that works better than either of the above, but till then I will be happy with products as black as my sole!

skincare
1

About the Creator

Joe Harris

A lover of writing with a tonne of thoughts and opinions stuck in his head. Lets see what comes out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.