Blush logo

My Hair Deserves Some Much-needed TLC, and Honestly, So Do I

Self-love vs. uncertainty

By Debdutta PalPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Keenan Constance from Pexels

It’s time I decided last night, during my everyday insomniac late-night special. I cannot drift through life anymore.

I don’t know what I am going through, and the only visible evidence of my problems is intense procrastination.

This year would be different, I said, and yet a half of it has gone by in the blink of an eye. Or so I would like to believe.

My hair is my best physical feature. I style it naturally, and in contrast to the rest of my body have always been in love with its hues, curves, and texture.

I don’t care for it too much, but the six-monthly haircuts and mini spas have been a much-coveted ritual for as long as I can remember.

My new hair would feel like fresh-cut grass, and I would caress it endlessly on the cab ride home. I would also order a McDonald’s meal, but that’s a story for another day.

Last year when my country was on lockdown, I gave myself a haircut. I’ve done trims before and thus felt relatively confident about the task.

I didn’t want to watch a tutorial and end up with a disastrous failure, as that would be a horrible experience to go through. No, I could not wait for a few months for it to grow back. I would mourn my loss every single day.

I would give my skills a B minus, which in my world is an F.

I tried too much, aimed too high, and ended up with a not-so-desirable result. But it was one I could live with. I told myself, is this the most essential thing in life right now? — No, move on.

For a while, I had to let it grow out of its sharply cut edges.

Soon it went back to its shiny, bouncy being, but I ignored it still. I hardly ever touched it or stopped in front of the mirror to appreciate it.

It was as if it didn’t matter anymore — or as if I didn’t matter.

Then came the split ends. They were followed by a coarse texture, flattening of volume at the top, and a leggy appearance. It tangled too often, needed more upkeep, and agitated me when I tried to sleep at night.

I’ve been due for another cut, or this time maybe just a sizeable trim for three months now, and I can’t seem to get around to it. My country is in another lockdown, and even before that, I wouldn't risk going to a salon.

My Pandemic Anniversary was weird, consisting mainly of listlessness. Then came the worst case of Déjà vu when the situation outside worsened far more than last year. It was back with a vengeance.

Earlier in the year, I planned to motivate myself to cut my hair for a potential trip in early July. I was going on a Staycation in the same city I live in, as anywhere else would be too risky and scary.

I had wanted to cut my hair in April, to give it a chance of growing back to its happy state, and shop for clothes other than pajamas in June.

Now that this reason doesn’t exist anymore, I have zero motivation to do something for myself.

I don’t have a robust or even visible reason for it; I just don’t have much energy. Any task that can be postponed is being delayed, and taking it one day at a time has transformed itself into being half-asleep while dragging myself through life.

I have already made realistic resolutions earlier this year which didn’t pan out, so I absolutely don’t know what to do right now.

What can I do that works?

What could fix this numbing- mildly anxious- tired- low phase?

As I don’t have the answers to both bigger and smaller questions in my life, I can think of only an actionable item that’s right in front of me.

I can cut my hair.

So this Thursday, I am finally going to do it. I will set aside the whole day if I have to, watch a few tutorials saved over the last year, get out my specially bought scissors and comb, and carefully, patiently trim my hair.

I will invest my energy in taking care of it, without thinking about whether this was the best way to spend the day or if my work is suffering or maybe I am the only one who sucks at this.

I am not going to procrastinate anymore. I won’t let my unnamed problems take over and face the day with courage, determination, and love.

Because my hair deserves some time, care, and attention, and so do I.

hair
Like

About the Creator

Debdutta Pal

For 27 years, I lived somebody else’s life. Now reclaiming what is rightfully mine, one story at a time. Support me: https://ko-fi.com/debduttapal90

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.