Blush logo

My Go-To's Makeup

A Casual Everyday Look

By Jennifer Black YoungPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
My Go-To's Makeup
Photo by Diana Ruseva on Unsplash

I love skincare and I love makeup. I really do. I am, however, not a fanatic. I don’t wear makeup everyday, and when I do I rarely do what would be considered a “full-face”...I don’t contour, I don’t highlight, I don’t do cut creases.

This is what I wear on a typical day out and about...

Dr. Jart Cicapair Re-Cover Cream

I only use this if I’m having a super red-faced day. It neutralizes the red and smooths everything out. It can wash me out though so I rarely, if ever, use it on it’s own.

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Multi-Use Concealer - Illuminator*

The day I finally listened to the internet and ordered this bad-boy was a great day. It is an illuminator/highlighter and is perfect for a quick swipe under the eyes to lighten dark circles, plus wherever you would put highlighter if you are a highlighter person...I'm not but sometimes I will use it on my browbone as well.

(Next Level - If I have some zits or need extra coverage under the eyes, I use CoverGirl CG Smoothers Concealer. I have super dry skin and this stuff doesn’t cake up as bad as everything else I have tried.)

e.l.f. Foundation Serum

This is basically a tinted moisturizer. It doesn’t give a ton of coverage but it does make the skin smoother and more glowy. Plus it helps to bring my color back if I’m using the Dr. Jart Re-cover cream.

(Next Level - Again, if I want extra coverage I grab my CG Smoothers Foundation. I’ve been using it for years (like, over a decade) and it has never let me down.)

Revlon Illuminance Creme Shadow - Not Just Nudes

Cream eye shadow is a dream. I just use my fingertip and swipe one or two of the shades on my lids...that's it. It adds depth to my hooded eyes but not serious time to my routine.

(Next Level - Doucce Ultra Precision Kohl Eyeliner in 500/Black. It is waterproof and smudge proof. I have fallen asleep with this on and it is still there in the morning...don't judge me.)

L'oreal Voluminous Mascara - Carbon Black

It’s just a great mascara. That’s it. It doesn’t smear, it doesn’t get all spider-webby, it makes my barely existent lashes longer without looking crazy.

(Next Level - When I am going out or feeling fancy I use Essence Lash Princess False Lash Effect Mascara. I would wear this every day but it makes my lashes so long the hit my glasses that is just not all that comfortable.)

e.l.f. Precision Eyebrow Pencil

I am always on the lookout for a fast and easy eyebrow product. I don’t like putting too much into my brows and I’m not one for eyebrow trends like Instagram brows or feathery brows. I just want them there framing my face and being like, normal or whatever. This pencil has been doing the trick lately.

Nivea Lip Care Tinted Lip Balm - Blackberry

I have the driest lips and even though I love lipstick, sometimes the dry lip thing causes a bit of a problem...this stuff works like lip balm obviously but it is tinted enough that it finishes off the look and makes it seem like maybe I actually tried today.

(Next Level- To kick up the lips a notch I will use a full lipstick instead of the tinted balm - my Go-To right now is Revlon's Raisin Rage.)

*Bonus - If I could only use one product before running out the door, it would be the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Multi-Use Concealer - Illuminator. It just brightens everything up.

face
1

About the Creator

Jennifer Black Young

Jen is a writer, mom, and officiant from Ohio. She likes to travel and collects things like coffee mugs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.