Blush logo

MY BEAUTY POP!

Simplicity is always the key (Holy Grail Challenge)

By Opi OPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
MY BEAUTY POP!
Photo by Kim Carpenter on Unsplash

When it comes to makeup, I like to keep things simple. I love experimenting with different brand of products. I love trying out different colors and just seeing what works for me. Over the years, I found out that too much makeup doesn’t suit my face, it makes me look older and different so what works for me is to keep things plain and simple. Once in a while for like special occasions, I like to keep my makeup on an average and experiment with even more colors and try new techniques. For me, there are just some must -haves I cannot live without when it comes to doing my own makeup. I mean, you will find all these products in my makeup bag and they are:

Primer: if you want your face looking smooth and fresh all day, then primer will be your friend. The first thing you notice is how silky and soft this product is and I love how it feels on my face. It’s vital for me to have this product because it makes my makeup last long on my face. After washing my face and drying with a face towel, primer is the first step I love to apply on my face; it’s like getting your skin ready before applying your makeup. This step is vital because you are basically moisturizing and cleansing your skin before the actual process. So if you want your face looking all fresh, soft and having that long lasting effect, primer should be your best friend for life! Okay I’m doing too much….LOL!

Concealer: I never really understood the vitality of using a concealer, but recently I incorporated this product to my makeup routine and I can confidently tell you that I love this product and every girl, lady, beginner or professional makeup artist should include this to your makeup routine. I never like to look dull when I am going out and the first thing people notice if you are looking dull is your eyes, actually let me rephrase….. The first thing people notice in my opinion if you do not have makeup on is your eyes. The eyes says it all. I love using a concealer because its blocks any form of discoloration around the eye area and it makes my eyes look more alive. Concealer and foundation work well together, it helps to achieve a better appearance by hiding any scars or unevenness. Never understood the importance of this product until I was curious one day and I decided to watch a makeup tutorial video, each products were explained and what they do.I was fascinated by the concealer because as i mentioned, i did not really know the importance of it so i decided to get myself one from Wal-Mart. I did not know what kind of brand to buy as I am not a makeup guru but I do know how to beat my face. I started using this product and I fell in love ever since .

Foundation: One of my favorite makeup product is my foundation, I feel like I have been running through the jungles just to find my right shade of foundation LOL! Just kidding! But seriously, it took me sometime to find my right shade and when I did, I never went back. So I present to you…….. **drum rolls please** “the ordinary” I only need to puff a tiny amount unto my palms , then rub on my face, it fills up my whole face. It honestly gives me that natural look and just blends well with my skin. It just makes my skin even and I just love how it feels on my face. It’s just the kind of vibe for if your are just running errands, going for a dinner party or just hanging out with your friends.

Powder: I usually use the Clinique power, i feel like this is the most understood product. It just has an extra special kind of glow that it brings to your skin, it brightens up my face and just gives me that extra confidence. When I first started doing my makeup, the first thing I knew about makeup was the powder. Back in those days, when I apply my facial cream, I just add my white powder and a lip gloss and I was good to go!

Makeup sponge/brush: You do know with every makeup routine, you just have to have your own makeup brush and sponge, you cannot do without them. It’s like an electrician not having a screw driver…..it doesn’t make any sense! This is a must have if you want your makeup to blend well and look even more natural. One thing I love to do with my makeup sponge is to wet it. I learnt this from someone and to be honest I am not so sure what it does but for me, I love how soft it feels and the soft feeling when I use it on my face .

Eye brow brush/ lip gloss: Lastly, I don’t do much to my eye brows because one….. I am not very good when it comes to shaping my brows and two…. people have told me that I have good brows and I hardly need to do anything, so all I do is just brush it nice and neat. Then finally I love a good minty gloss, i used to be a lover of lipstick but found out it doesn’t really work for me as it makes me look older again so like I said, I love to keep things simple. And there you go, my must-haves when I am doing my makeup in that order. I hope you enjoyed reading his the same way I enjoyed writing this. Can I say, I believe every lady is beautiful just the way you are, we do not need any form of makeup to assure us of our inner and outward beauty. Simplicity is always key. So shoulder up and walk in that confidence.

makeup
1

About the Creator

Opi O

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.