Blush logo

Making myself pretty for inner peace

Makeup is my happy place

By Jennifer MillerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Making myself pretty for inner peace
Photo by Claudia Tocuț on Unsplash

Making myself pretty for inner peace

So, I found something out recently. I found out that not all women wear makeup. Literally hardly any of my real-life friends wear makeup. However, I love to. I say real life because I have several friends online, and they all do.

Even though I’m 47 I just now started wearing makeup, like six years ago, and I just now started getting good at it…notice I said good, not great. It is my inner peace. I really love doing it. Now, I’m no where near good enough to actually make money at it like say Tati, or Jaclyn Hill, or Nikki Tutorials, but I really love it!

When I sit down at my bathroom sink, yes, I said my bathroom sink, I mean I’m a single mom, can’t afford a separate room for a vanity on my income, I just kind of well, I don’t know how to describe it. I just enter my own world.

I love color, and my face is like my canvas, and I get to do multiple looks. Now, I’m no where near as good as all those really talented ones like I mentioned earlier, but I think I am getting better, and practice makes perfect.

I love the transformation I get from makeup as well. One of my favorite youtubers really demonstrates that. Casey Holmes, who has well over two million subscribers, when she does a full-face transformation, meaning she has no makeup on at the beginning of the video, and then has a full face of makeup at the end, well, it’s just amazing how different she looks.

It really is my happy time. My boys sleep in late these days, and I like to get up before they do and go and turn my playlist on and just…transform my face.

It is also a real confidence booster. When I go out wearing makeup, or even if I don’t and I catch my reflection in the mirror, I can’t help but smile at who’s staring back at me. But really, I just enjoy doing it for fun.

I will let you in on a little secret, although I guess it will no longer be a secret ha ha, but when I plan to use a particular eyeshadow pallet, I often open it early and plan the look, and this brings me such joy! Silly, I know, but there it is.

I believe another reason I like doing makeup, is because I have grown in my skill level. Last year about this time, I was horrid at doing a winged liner, now, not so bad. Not great either, but not bad.

I do this video series on my you tube channel, wear a go along and pick my makeup for the month. I call it, as do many other youtubers who also do it, shop my stash. Would you believe I use to get so excited about the new month that way before the first, I would sit there and pick it out in my head.

If my eyeshadow pallet collection and my lip product collection doesn’t tell you how much I enjoy makeup, then nothing will. Yeah, I have probably near two hundred eyeshadow pallets, and an equal amount of tube lipsticks, liquid lipsticks, lip-glosses, and lip liners. Yup, I love makeup. I am a collector though. So, that is what I do.

It really does stimulate my creativity as well. So, I’m not certain if this qualifies as something that gives you inner peace, because I enjoy it so much. You can like that thing, right? Well, I do. I am certain it sounds weird to some, since apparently not many people wear makeup, but I do, and I sure love it.

face
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.