Blush logo

Makeup Tutorial for The Lockdown

How to look awesome during these trying times

By Stacie EvansPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Sometimes we just need to look snatched

That lockdown

So your city and/or state is now on lockdown because of this virus. You used to be able to go to work, and you probably wore a full face of makeup; looking like the next beauty guru on YouTube and Instagram.

No, you're stuck at home. The only time you get to leave your place is go buy groceries. You're probably working from home, or you're applying for remote jobs. Maybe you're busy on Instagram, TikTok, or just doing daily livestreams.

Your face is going to be out in some kind of force, so why not go out looking snatched?

But hold up! You probably don't want to do a full face of makeup when you'll only be showing your face for just a few hours. Makes sense, so this is where I come in!

Le Eyes

One thing I need to make note of is that I'll be mentioning mostly drugstore/affordable. I typically use those types of products. So don't look down on them just because they're not from Sephora.

I start off with an eyeshadow primer. I use the Wet n Wild creme eyeshadow as a primer. Then I go in with a warm neutral shadow from the Profusion pallet. Profusion is hard to get your hands on. If you have other neutral eyeshadow palettes, you can use those too.

Just one shadow, and I'm done! Now if you want to go full out, you can.

Le Face:Part One

Next up is the face. I have combo-to-oily skin, so I typically use mattifying primers. Since I'm home most of the time, my face tends to dry out. So really, use any primer, depending on your skin type. I just use anything that's not too drying. I highly recommend the primer serum from Wet n Wild; or the putty primers from ELF. I would suggest their dew primer, but that's limited edition. Good luck getting your hands on that one.

I would say you go in with foundation, but nope! You go in with concealer instead! Unless you really feel like you need foundation, just go in with a full-coverage concealer. I highly recommend the hydrating ones, such as the Makeup Revolution hydrating concealer, the ELF one, and the Colourpop Pretty Fresh concealer.

To set everything, go in with a loose powder by doing the baking technique. I've been loving the ELF Halo Glow powder. It is a bit glowy, but you know you're not going to be wearing the makeup for that long anyway.

Le Face:Part Two (Feat Eyebrows)

Do your eyebrows. Really, do them. Maybe you prefer using pomades and such. Me? I just go in with a micro eyebrow pen, such as the ELF one.

After that, brush off the powder, and press a bit more of the loose powder on the cheeks and jawline. Now we get into the best part: Pressed powder foundation. I typically use a packed brush to apply it all over the face. I also use mattifying powders. I'm currently using the Makeup Revolution Blot and Bake powder.

You go in with the bronzer, and make sure you blend it out. I'm currently using the ELF Primer-Infused bronzer.

Set everything with the setting powder, such as the Essence matte powder. Since it might be a long morning, you have to use the setting spray. I highly recommend the Maybelline setting spray in the pink bottle, and the Morphe matte setting spray. But if you're just going on social media, the MAC Fix+ spray will do just fine.

Le Fin

Just finish the look with eyeliner, mascara, and lip product, and you're done! Ready to look awesome!

Honestly, this is up to you. If you don't want to put on makeup, that is fine. If you do, well, here you go! And you don't have to buy the products I've mentioned. Just use what you have, and you'll achieve the same look. I think we could all use a little fun in this time of distress. Makeup can be fun, so why not?

makeup
Like

About the Creator

Stacie Evans

I'm a young adult/new adult drama/romance writer and a pop songwriter. My books are on Amazon and my music on SoundCloud. I'm switching from my Covid lockdown articles to works of fiction and songs. Hope you'll enjoy my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.