Blush logo

Lashes for Days

No extensions needed

By Suzi SevilenPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
My 5 year old little boy's lashes!

Okay, guys, see that photo above? It's of a picture that I took of my 5 year old little boy who had just picked me a tiny bouquet of garden flowers and leaned in to give them a sniff. However, when I first looked at the photo, I saw what I do everyday when I look into his big beautiful eyes...those LASHES! Ugh, why do the boys always get, naturally, what we women try so hard to achieve through so many different means, be it false eyelash application, lash extensions, and trying an egregious amount of mascaras out on the market to try to even come anywhere close? Well, I feel like I found the golden ticket and because I am not one to keep beauty secrets or any secrets really, being that I am a writer and I tend to use what I find in my everyday life in my stories in some way, shape, and form, I want to share this this little needle in the haystack of beauty secrets with you.

Like many, mostly-home-bound Americans these days, I have found my morning ritual go from wake up, work-out, shower, head-to-work to lay in bed an extra hour or so, grab my coffee, and head to my porch in the morning to scroll through Facebook and Instagram for way too long before actually starting my day. In a way, it’s nice. It’s like the “me time” I get before my kids wake up and homeschooling and work-from-home begins. Really, it’s the time I feel I can take now that the world has allowed us to slow down a bit to feel connected, with so many of our adult, physical connections having been forcefully curbed since the pandemic hit.

Initially, I would go on to check out my friend’s stories, cute animal posts, and stay up to date on causes I care about, and other pertinent issues I felt were close to my heart. Then, like so many of us during this time I too, fell victim to occasional frivolous shopping, to give me something to look forward to when going places no longer seemed to be filling the gratification void, since, let’s face it, we still can’t go everywhere we used to yet.

What came next, from the little bit of impulse buying I had done were the way-too-tailored to my likes, ads. “They must be able to read my mind!” I thought! I just had a conversation about this yesterday through text message with my bestie! Then “BAM”, there it was again! A perfectly tailored ad to show me that I could achieve exactly what I was looking for with one click. Yep, by purchasing their product.

I told myself, “no, I mustn’t let the algorithm gods be in charge of my choices!” They are in charge of way to much as it is these days! I had become less high-maintenance as well, being that I no longer get my lashes filled with extensions and now, “Viola!” I have my actual, undamaged eyelashes back! I don’t have a need for nail fills either, and since letting my own grow and become strong again, I enjoy the less expensive alternative which is choosing a color and just painting them myself when the mood strikes. The list goes on and on.

However, I am still a girly-girl at heart and one thing I didn’t want the pandemic to take away from me was self-care and the occasional splurge on something I felt like I deserved to treat myself for the work I do! Hard work should be rewarded, right?

Me, in my natural habitat

So, here I am! I am a 38 year old mom of 2 amazing boys. I have a preteen and a 5 year old, and yep, we often wear clothes like I’m donning in this photo! We get ready for the day, but remain comfy. So, the one thing I still like to do after my shower, even though I’m working from home, and even though I’m the only one besides my family that sees me most days is put on a little make up and blow dry my hair. It makes me feel like I’m putting in an effort to feel good. If I pass a mirror, I know I put the extra step in that day just for me. I find that empowering.

So, back to where I caved and allowed those tricky little internet ads get the better of me; truth be told, in this case, I am so very happy they did!

By Solen Feyissa on Unsplash

It was a normal morning and I was scrolling through Instagram. I noticed that there was one particular ad that I couldn’t just scroll right past. I had been seeing it for days, possibly weeks after looking up a mascara that I purchased on EBay and not even directly through the company, that I was not impressed with. Well, Instagram might not know how let down about the product I felt, but they certainly got the “impression” that I was in the market for some new mascara. I mean, they were right, I was.

I came across a girl who was literally right up in my face, through the phone, actually applying the product to her lashes and showing the difference between her eyes with the mascara liquid on and off. I was truly astonished! There were no extensions needed! This girl seemed to have figured out a product that, dare I say it...WORKS! So, I clicked the ad, looked at the price, which was super reasonable and bought it to try.

When I received the item, I was gleeful! I wanted to see how it worked immediately! I felt like a child on Christmas Day! So, I opened it and took a moment to look at the package. Thrive Causemetics, the company name sounded wonderful to me in my head. After a year of what felt like surviving, I was ready to “thrive”, even if it was just a word playing on my psyche! I didn’t care! I was excited!

I drove home from my mail box and ran up to the bathroom with the Thrive, Liquid Lash Extension mascara in my hand. The box was teal in color and it felt heavier than other mascara a little. I took the tube out of the box and read the color; it was named, Brynn. It was their classic, Real Black, shade. I knew if it worked, it would be the dream product I was looking for that wouldn’t cause damage like real lash extensions, was easy to apply and remove, “just use warm water,” the ad said. So, I tried it out and , my lashes grew what seemed like an inch before my eyes, literally almost touching my eyebrows. They also had gorgeous volume, as I followed the instructions on the package and coated both sides of my lashes with the product! I was in love!



When I tell you that this product is worth it, I actually mean it! I will never again use another lash product or mascara since I feel as though I have found liquid gold with Thrive's Liquid Lash Extensions. The more I researched the company, I realized that it wasn't just the product that I loved but also, that there is a reason that they spell their cosmetics company name, Thrive Causemetics! This company holds so many causes that I find near and dear to my heart in their's as well when creating their products! A few examples of why I love this product is because it is 100% vegan + cruelty-free! It uses high-performance ingredients that are always formulated without parabens, phthalates, sulfates and synthetic fragrance. As a mother and modern day hippie, who cares about the earth, our bodies and what we put into them and on to them, and what is best for the animals we share our planet with, this product is a win-win on every level. Try it and see for yourself!





makeup
Like

About the Creator

Suzi Sevilen

Hi, I’m Suzi, I’m 38 and reside in sunny Arizona with my family. I’ve got 2 boys, who surprise me everyday. I like writing, and words in general. I feel like something amazing is going to come from writing here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.