Blush logo

Impulse Buy to save my skin

Or should I say my face

By Nicheal GadsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Impulse Buy to save my skin
Photo by Curology on Unsplash

For the past few months I have been dealing with acne, specifically cystic acne. As a teen, I dealt with the typical issues of going through puberty. A few pimples and zits here and there. My brother had it worse and had to go through the process of trying different medications. I had my trial and error Proactive. It made it worse, but then made it better... I guess. So for a while my skin was smooth and people were complimenting me on how nice my skin was. I was still dealing with the insecurities of my acne scars from the constant pimple popping. So I never believed I had "good skin."

It wasn't until I got involved in acting and modeling and having to send photos for casting that I really got a good look at myself. In one headshot, I looked at my face and saw clear skin. I said wow, I really DO have good skin. Now its typical for my to break out once per month due to hormonal acne. So I tend to break out on my cheeks and chin area. It's not so bad. And I've even got to referencing my reoccurring pimple at "Postulio." *It's an Invader Zim reference for my cartoon watchers*

But for the face time in my life I suffered a cystic pimple. I never experienced this, so foolishly I attempted to pop it. The thing with cystic acne is that everything is under the surface of the skin. So while I was squeezing my skin trying to pop the pimple, it was bruising the skin at the same time. Over time the pimple had gone away on its own, but the bruise left a mark on my face. So now I have what seems to be a permanent mark on my face from squeezing and not the pimple itself. It makes me even more stressed out because its from my own doing.

But there seems to be hope. I am an active user of Instagram so for MONTHS I have been seeing ads and promotions for a company called Curology. Based on the videos I've seen, people can not stop raving about this company's products. I did my own research and it turns out the formulas are prescribed by dermatologists who read your answers to the the questions about your skin and review pictures of your problem areas.

I tried every product in the drug store and I figured why not give my money to an actual company that will focus on my own skin and acne problems. I started with the $5 trial and they sent me my formula in the mail within a week. It included a cleanser, a formula for night time, and a moisturizer. It also included emergency treatment patches. I started out with the night formula and treatment patch. So far, I can see the cystic pimple that I have on my cheek starting to smooth down and its less red. They recommend using treatment for a month before you start to see results.

I posted a quick boomerang of the products and few people messaged me saying that I made the best decision of my life. One of friends wrote to me saying that it truly helped her skin and that its worth using for a few months. I'm really hoping this treatment works for my skin. It is $65 per month and I've never payed this much money for skin care. So this will definitely count as am impulse buy but a happy one. I'll be glad to say that I gave it a chance.

skincare

About the Creator

Nicheal Gadson

Born and raised New Yorker. My life is a story and I intend to be my own author. Tales from the subway, convos in the local bodega, and adventures of an anxious actor. I’m here to share, read, and interact with other writers.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nicheal GadsonWritten by Nicheal Gadson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.