Blush logo

Imaginary Authors- A Perfume Review

The stories we smell

By Harbor BenassaPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 5 min read
3
Imaginary Authors- A Perfume Review
Photo by Vanesa conunaese on Unsplash

I had been eyeing Imaginary Authors as a perfume brand for a long time before I finally received a sample set of theirs for Christmas two years ago. For readers and writers alike, Imaginary Authors presented an opportunity to step into scent as a story to wrap around ourselves instead of just an accessory. Certain perfumes deliver on that promise, and some of them fell flat, but I still wholeheartedly recommend checking out their website and perusing all of the scent stories ready to join you on your next adventure. The brand has since released several new additions to their anthology, but all the classics I've reviewed are still available.

A City on Fire- This was the most unique scent and the perfume I was complimented on the most by far. In fact, it was the only perfume in this set anyone ever asked about after merely being in my presence. To this day, I've never come across any similar perfume in my travels, which I think is why it drew so much attention. The smoky scent made me think of wooden planks on a haunted pier. It helped me express myself while I was in a dark place, and I found myself layering it with other perfumes to lend them a mysterious edge. The best way to wear this perfume was spraying twice and then walking through it. Anything more and the bourbon-like interplay of scents took a masculine center stage overmuch. I loved the heart notes of cardamom, given that cardamom is my comfort scent, and it's no surprise that this was the undisputed winner of all the Imaginary Authors perfumes I tried.

Every Storm a Serenade- Every Storm a Serenade was their take on a petrichor scent, which I was excited to try. Unfortunately, after multiple wears, I came to the conclusion that it was a little too contrived of a forest rainfall fragrance. The eucalyptus lent a menthol edge that induced minor headaches after prolonged wear, and vetiver exacerbated that effect. I think spruce alone would have balanced the perfume better than it did while competing with vetiver, confounding what could have been a cohesive scene. I have yet to find a rain-based scent I'm in love with, but I'm not willing to give up on it yet! Every Storm a Serenade comes in at#6.

Falling into the Sea- Falling into the Sea definitely lives up to its name! It's a balance between aquatic and solar notes, with bergamot, grapefruit, and lemon as stars of the show. Vacation in a bottle, the interplay between the bergamot and grapefruit produced a combined note of sea salt that made this perfume the perfect summer scent. The sweetness of lychee heart notes properly balanced the sour citrus to lift away potentially bitter overtones. Its lack of Sundrunk's bitterness is what made it my ultimate olfactory getaway, coming in strong at #2.

O, Unknown!- This fragrance was strange, and although there are no notes of cantaloupe officially listed, the interplay of scents produced a similar aura. The top note of black tea was sweetened just enough by orris butter in an intricate dance. I also detected a fizziness from the combination of sandalwood and balsam that evoked Pixie Stix, of all things. I'm not the biggest fan of cantaloupe, much to my boyfriend's regret, but I still found this perfume somewhat wearable when I felt just a little bit weird inside. It landed right in the middle for me at #4.

Slow explosions- Despite its name, Slow Explosions didn't bring the wow factor, striking me as a more wearable dupe to Yesterday's Haze. The rose absolut and leather were the strongest, but the floral aspects were overpowered by the tanner's notes. It needed more rose and benzoin to balance out the darker scents and evoke the Goan night market it's purported to on the website- it simply doesn't live up to the concept blurb. It isn't a scent I loved, and I absolutely think darker scents have been done better, but it isn't all the way at the bottom of my list at #7.

Sundrunk- Sundrunk is a solar turned sour, with hints of rhubarb and bitter citrus. I have no idea how that "sun-ripened" essence was captured, but it was an experience evocative of eating a berry fresh off the bush. It was the perfect summery scent when I wanted to make an olfactory statement year-round, and the strength of the rhubarb in particular clearly differentiated it from Falling into the Sea. The lighter aromas of rosewater and honeysuckle also prevent the illusion of a salty edge. This is the perfume that led me to realize I was in love with solars, and if a sour punch is your thing, this perfume will be, too. Sundrunk rounds out the best scents in this set at #3.

Telegrama- I absolutely loved telegrama as a powdery skin scent for winter, with the lavender absolut notes giving it a vodka-like edge. It was just light enough to wear on days when I felt like blending into my snowy surroundings, but it also added a little air of mystery layered underneath my faux-fur-lined coat. I'd compare it to Skin by Clean Reserve, but it has an almost cold bite to the scent itself that makes it a clear winner for wintertime. I didn't find it as wearable in summer, so if you're interested in Telegrama, I suggest purchasing right as the weather starts to turn so you can enjoy it for a whole season. Because of how subtle it is, it's a little further down the list at #5.

Yesterday's Haze- This was my least favorite scent in the sample set. I can't necessarily place the exact combination of scents I found offensive, but the bitterness was overwhelming. I think the orchard dust element must have thrown me for a loop. Overall, it seems like there were too many soft, sweet scents paired with too many stronger elements, and none of them emerged as an obvious top note. If you're seeking a sweet and husky scent, so still am I- suggestions in the comments are much appreciated! This perfume takes #8.

In the end, experimenting with evocative perfumes was a lot of fun, and it left me wanting to try out the rest of their fragrances. Maybe you'll hear from me again about a new chapter from Imaginary Authors, especially as some of their more recent releases draw from mythology and folklore as opposed to the everyday adventures of the classics.

pop culturevintageproduct reviewbodyart
3

About the Creator

Harbor Benassa

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Ouu, I've never heard of this brand before! This was such a fun read and a very helpful review. Your descriptions were beautifully detailed and super useful as to what to expect!

  • mainagogoi9 months ago

    nice

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.