Blush logo

I Used Organic Body Oil on My Hair and This Is What Happened

Can organic face and body oil tame unruly locks? I decided to test it out to try.

By Patricia SarkarPublished 6 years ago 7 min read
Top Story - July 2018
1

There are a lot of things I have managed to tame over the years. I’ve managed to tame my wild style into something that looks visually appealing. I’ve been able to get my driving style to be a bit tamer than it used to be when I first started driving. I’ve even been able to tame my spending habits—for the most part.

One thing I have never been able to fully tame, though, is my hair.

My hair has always been a curly, ropey mess that just does whatever it feels like doing at that moment. Brushing it out is an uphill battle, and even putting it in a ponytail can become an incredibly difficult endeavor. I have to use heavy-duty ponytail clips just to avoid having hair ties snap while I walk.

A large portion of my hair struggles have been due to the fact that it’s extremely dry. Over the years, I have tried a wide range of products to try to do something for my hair. I’ve used restorative hair masks to little avail. Conditioner and detanglers help, but often leave my hair feeling waxy or sticky.

Recently, I tried to brush out my hair once more, only to have part of the brush break. I had enough. I needed to try something new, but what? Well, I took a look at the bottle of GLAUX CHEM® Face and Body Oil sitting on my desk and gave it a try.

Before we begin, I might as well explain what made me choose to use body oil rather than another conditioner. It’s because my hair is very finicky when it comes to the ingredients in hair products. My hair tends to fall victim to product buildup in a way most others don’t.

Conditioners have a tendency of leaving a very waxy, at times even clay-like, residue on my hair. I often have to rinse my hair repeatedly in order to get my hair to a normal-ish texture after using them. In some cases, my hair will have a mop-like appearance until I wash my hair with shampoo multiple times.

When I used GLAUX CHEM® on my face and body, my skin just drank up the oil. There was no residue. I felt like it’d be a good match, and might be one of the best chances at resolving the residue problem.

The Perks I Wanted to Reap

The thing about this body oil is that it’s not just residue-free. The reason I bought the bottle in the first place dealt with the ingredients, which included antioxidant-rich goodies like hemp oil, pomegranate seed oil, and carrot oil.

I’ve long had a suspicion that part of my hair’s unruly texture dealt with it lacking nutrients. Knowing that the oil has omega-3 fatty acids, vitamin E, and other goodies, it seemed like a great way to improve the texture of my hair.

How I Chose to Do It

There’s a lot of different ways I could put oil in my hair. I could have just opened up the bottle and poured it on my head. I could have also added oil to it, wrapped my hair in foil, and run my head under a hair dryer for a bit. Though those were definitely options I could have pursued, I chose something a little different.

Rather than do a “hot oil” treatment on my hair, I chose to wet my hair and massage the oil into the tips of my hair. I then worked the oil up to the roots, and dried it by wrapping it up. This way, my most frayed ends would get the care they need first.

I gave it a try.

Right after I popped out of my daily bath, I decided to give the hair oil idea a try. My hair was freshly soaked after I dipped it in my bathwater. I read that pouring warm water on wet hair helps open up the follicles, which would make absorption of the oil better.

I poured a quarter-size dollop of oil into my hands, rubbed them together, and then started massaging my hair. Then, I wrapped my hair up in a T-shirt and placed it on my head. I then grabbed some wine and let my hair soak up as much moisture as I could.

Playing the Waiting Game

Obviously, if the oil was going to work its way into my hair follicles, it was going to take time. I just didn’t know how much time it’d take, so I grabbed some wine and decided to wait until my hair was mostly dry.

After binge-watching Family Guy for about three or four hours, I decided it was time to see how my little experiment was going. Could GLAUX CHEM® be the oil that ends up making my hair tolerable? I took off the T-shirt and gave my hair a feel to find out…

Let’s talk texture.

The first thing that I noticed was that my hair felt vastly different, especially around the ends of my hair. My hair was way softer than it typically is, to the point that I wouldn’t have honestly recognized it as my hair by texture alone. It also felt lighter than it typically does after a hair moisturizing session.

I took a closer look at my hair’s tips, because they really did feel noticeably different. I then realized that the split ends that often plagued my hair seemed to be fewer in number. It definitely seemed like my hair took well to the oil.

In terms of it being comb-able, I definitely felt more confident about using a brush after. My hands could run through it pretty easily, though the occasional knot still showed up from time to time.

What About Oiliness?

Unlike a lot of the hair products I’ve used in the past, my hair didn’t have that greasy feel of product buildup after using it. So while I did add oil to my hair, it didn’t feel oily nor did it feel “fake.”

My hair did feel a little bit heavier than usual, but not so much that it would leave my hair looking limp. Rather, it felt fuller in a way that felt natural. My hair felt like it became stronger, rather than just weighted down.

A Note About My Curls

Part of the reason why I have a hard time with my hair is because my hair naturally grows in an unruly, curly way. My hair, when left in its natural state, wraps around itself in chunks, giving a “mermaid dreadlock” look.

Due to the unusual hair type I was born with, I have very coarse hair. When I treated my hair with the oil, my hair’s curls became way more defined. Rather than looking dreadlock-y, my hair’s texture resembled spirals. I gotta admit, I loved it!

The Final Look

When I first removed the T-shirt, my hair was mostly dry. So, it was still a little damp. I had to wait a bit more to see what it looked like. After it dried, I went outside to see how my hair looked. For the first time in awhile, I looked at my hair and saw shine—no spray needed.

This experiment taught me a lot about my hair, and it’s helped me improve my hair for the better. The first thing I learned was that the dryness of my hair was a far bigger issue than I thought and boy, my hair was also starving for nutrients. I needed a product that gave my hair the nutrients it needed.

I was also very surprised to find out that my hair was so sensitive to synthetic ingredients. Realizing that using natural oil didn’t cause the buildup issue, most of my old products ended up being thrown out after the experiment.

Overall, I was impressed by what happened when I used GLAUX CHEM®’s Face and Body Oil. Apparently, all my hair really needed was a natural oil that had antioxidants and moisture aplenty. Who would have guessed?

It’s available online on GLAUX CHEM®’s website.

product review
1

About the Creator

Patricia Sarkar

Raised on a steady diet of makeup and games. Eager to share my experiences with the world and make a difference, article by article! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.