Blush logo

How Did I Get Rid of Loose Skin?

Personal experience for using autophy initiating techniques

By Dr Mehmet YildizPublished 3 years ago Updated 10 months ago 5 min read
5
How Did I Get Rid of Loose Skin?
Photo by Anastase Maragos on Unsplash

In this story, I want to share my personal experience for removing loose skin naturally by leveraging autophagy initiating techniques. I am a sensible biokacker. This means that I conduct only natural, legal, and research proven techniques on myself.

What I learned from research

I conducted a comprehensive literature review on the topic.

My initial findings depicted that there were several practical and natural ways to activate autophagy. The practical and natural solutions are mainly lifestyle changes within our control. The most common methods are fasting, exercising, detoxifying, exposing to cold and heat.

Many scientific studies demonstrated the caloric restriction and fasting regimes to initiate the autophagy. One of the notable studies was by Longo & Mattson, Fasting: molecular mechanisms and clinical applications.

Another study examined the physiological role of autophagy as an intracellular recycling system with an emphasis on nutrient metabolism by Kuma & Mizushima.

The field has a high focus on research and is evolving. Autophagy studies are intense in science and medicine, even conducted for cancer research.

Scientific experiments on fasting were conducted both in animal and human studies. For example, in a 2015 study, fasting protects mice from lethal DNA damage by promoting small intestinal epithelial stem cell survival. In another study in 2017, fasting inhibits colorectal cancer growth by reducing M2 polarization of tumour-associated macrophages. There are many more studies beyond the scope of this article.

I noticed that there were a growing body of knowledge on exercise inducing autophagy. For example, a 2012 study in the Autophagy journal asserts that exercise induces autophagy in peripheral tissues and the brain.

Instead of going into details of research, I believe it can be more useful to share my personal experience.

Personal Experience

I learned that autophagy could be initiated by fasting, exercising, detoxifying, exposing to cold and heat. By leveraging this knowledge and obtaining guidance from my health consultants, I developed a personal health and fitness regime.

My purpose was not only to get rid of my minor loose skin but also improve my fitness and health holistically as a by product. Therefore, this regime turned into a new lifestyle for me.

I want to briefly share my experience for awareness purposes. As we are all unique from biological, genetics, physiological, and psychological perspectives, we need to tailor our regimes based on our personal needs. The regime I introduce may not necessarily match to other people. I share this information for awareness purposes only.

My autophagy initiating regime, included several actions.

From a dietary perspective, I eat one meal a day. This regime enables me to stay in a fasted state for at least 16 hours a day. This regime is also commonly known as intermittent fasting. You can learn more about my fasting regime in this link. I use intermittent fasting for other purposes too.

From exercise and fitness perspectives, I perform 30 minutes cardio on the trampoline on the fasted state, 10–15 minutes calisthenics every morning mainly pull-up and push-ups, 30 minutes of weight training for two to three days a week.

I also apply cold and heat exposure frequently. For example, I take 3–5 minutes cold shower every morning. I go to a health center for 30-minute dry sauna or infrared sauna at least twice a week.

Our skins need to be hydrated to stay healthy. Therefore, I ensure that my electrodes are at an optimal level. Due to my special diet, I am careful about having enough sodium (mineral salt) and magnesium for my body.

Another key health measure I apply is regularly removing the toxins and heavy metals from my body. Even though perspiration through sauna helps me for this purpose, I also use activated charcoal based on scientific proof.

I improve my skin health especially for the abdominal area using dry brush which increases blood circulation and stimulates nervous system.

It is important for me to refrain from chronic stress which can cause adverse effects on my health. One of the most important lessons was fully recovering before starting another intense exercise session.

Another critical lesson was not to overdo cardio, instead, stick to either moderate amount of cardio or supplement my anaerobic exercise with high intensity interval training particularly on a safe trampoline.

From psychological perspective, I learnt to reduce my stress and anxiety.

Finally and gratefully, I got rid of my excess skin in my abdominal area by learning the mechanism of autophagy. I created a new and tailored lifestyle options suiting my physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual needs.

Conclusion

Getting rid of stubborn loose skin after substantial weight loss can be challenging and time-consuming.

The natural process called autophagy can help us remove useless and broken cells in our body.

Understanding autophagy initiating factors and designing a lifestyle can be a natural and sustainable solution for removing undesirable loose skin.

The key to success appears to be building healthy and sustainable lifestyle habits.

Reference: Simple and Powerful Life-Transforming Bio-Hacks by Dr Mehmet Yildiz - https://books2read.com/u/4j1QWo

Thank you for reading my perspective.

As a writer, blogger, content developer, and reader, you might join Medium, Vocal Media, NewsBreak, Medium Writing Superstars, Writing Paychecks, WordPress, and Thinkers360 with my referral links.

You might join my six publications on Medium as a writer by sending a request via this link. 21K+ writers contribute to my publications. You might find more information about my professional background.

You may join Medium with my referral link.

skincare
5

About the Creator

Dr Mehmet Yildiz

I'm a writer and published author with four decades of content development experience in business, technology, leadership, and health. I work as a postdoctoral researcher and consultant. My background is at https://digitalmehmet.com.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.