Blush logo

Have You Ever Sold Avon Or Mary Kay?

When I was in my mid-twenties I was encouraged to sell Avon first and a few short years later Mary Kay Cosmetics!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Have You Ever Sold Avon Or Mary Kay?
Photo by Tong Nguyen van on Unsplash

I have never heard of anyone being asked to sell either Avon or Mary Kay in early recovery, but I was! Years later I guessed it was because I wasn't taking care of myself. I am way better, but I can still be that person!

I was on the Eco device with my son and granddaughter and it was just before dinner and I hadn't changed out of my pj's from last night. No makeup, I didn't wash my face or brush my teeth or comb my hair!

The best thing was that we were frozen on the device part of the time, so at least I couldn't see them and I was hoping that they couldn't see me either, once I got a look at me.

I did the same thing last Sunday when a good friend was spending the night and wouldn't you know she wanted to take pictures! I said, well let me at least put on some lipstick. They teased me but off I went to put lipstick on.

When the pictures were posted on Facebook, I could tell that I had lipstick on my teeth! And no one told me!

When I was asked to sell Avon, it was important for me to wear some of the products to sell the product. Most people who bought Avon had their favorite product and for them to buy more, I had to use the product myself.

I had to especially use the newer product as how else would they know what it looked like? The catalog was not as easy to see as it was on a model. I was the model. You know how models need to appear to sell clothing. Well, it is similar.

And I had to start showering daily and paying attention to what I was wearing each day. I started to be noticed and I started to receive compliments. And I started to feel better about myself. Who knew?

I had two small children and was working full-time and now selling Avon. The sponsor told me it wouldn't take up much of my time. Well, it felt like two full-time jobs, and with my children, it felt like 3 full-time jobs. I had a wringer washer back then and cloth diapers.

That was just beginning to change. Or at least in my family, it was. I sound old and I am not that old. I am 68, but that was the time.

I did well in Avon by the time I was ready to move. And when I moved I thought I would be done with Avon and I was. I was talking to another person in recovery and she suggested I consider Mary Kay cosmetics. I wasn't interested until she mentioned the pink car.

I was a student, still with young children. My husband was driving a truck over the road, so I was mostly a single parent and I had a beater for a car.

I didn't get the pink car but I came close. I did go to Dallas for a convention, which was a big deal and I had five women selling cosmetics that made a difference in my paycheck too. I needed to do just a little more to win the car.

I enjoyed how the facials made women feel and applying the makeup to women that never wore makeup, just to see what it looked like. It was fun most of the time.

I didn't like the cold calls, the calling for re-orders, or the recruitment.

I did learn a whole lot about sales and it has helped me with salespeople for the rest of my life.

I have to say no regrets about either. Having a good skin care regimen is a good thing and I have no regrets about helping women to feel better and look better themselves. I had a couple trainings with whom I was told were Hollywood makeup artists. A few of the tips were great and I shared them.

makeupskincare
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.