Blush logo

Glossy grail

my holy grail

By Skye VaillancourtPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

I'm not sure if my perfectly smooth, speckled marble skin seen in the picture above was from the bumbling humidity of summer in New York City or my Glossier skincare products. I think… I'm going to go with Glossier. That definitely sounds better than telling people my secret to great skin is the smoggy heat of New York City in August. Anyway, the summer of 2019 was the best for me, skin-wise at least, and so that's when I began my tumultuous affair with the beauty brand, Glossier.

I had just moved to Brooklyn when I decided to begin taking care of my skin. I wanted to be as Vogue-ready as everyone else walking down the street. Everywhere I looked, there were beautiful people, and I yearned to be one, too. I had heard of the brand Glossier before and had never bought their products, but I knew there was a brick-and-mortar shop in Soho, and I prefer to purchase skincare and makeup in person.

So, I hopped on the bustling subway and headed to the shop. Walking up the steps of the Canal Street station, I was full of an excitement only a tourist could have about waiting in a line that drifted lazily down Lafayette Street until a pink coverall adorned employee waved me in. Once I got in, sweating from head to toe from standing within the trapped in heat of skyscrapers, it was like heaven; the colour scheme, the atmosphere, the simplistic nature of the products--this all spoke to me. I flitted around the store like a hyped up fairy, admiring and touching all the products(this was obviously before Coronavirus was even a slight concern). I wanted, needed, it all; I could have bought one of every product and not felt satisfied. In the end, I only left with a few items that day.

The moment I’ve been building up to and you’ve all been waiting for: my holy grails. Drumroll, please!

The products that this article is all about are Glossier's Milky Jelly Cleanser and their Priming Moisturizer. During that summer, I used both of these products religiously. I was taking quite good care of my skin at the time, most likely to distract myself from the stress of living on my own for the first time in a big city and being unemployed. I couldn’t control those aspects, but I could control how I treated my body. Not to mention, the products actually worked! Needless to say, I visited the bubblegum hued shop in Soho many times during my short stint in New York City.

The Milky Jelly Cleanser left my skin feeling pure, soft, and makeup free—things I don’t remember ever feeling since beginning my journey with makeup. The cleanser’s formula is not harsh at all, I am even able to wash around my eyes without any issues. The Priming Moisturizer helped keep my skin from drying out in the blasting AC of my apartment while simultaneously keeping it from getting greasy in the heat of the city. A win-win situation, I’d say.

Sadly, quarantine and 2020 in general has drained me of the energy to maintain a skincare regime. Or really the energy to do much of anything. I do still use these products, but not nearly as often as I did or should. However, writing this has sparked the desire in me again. Especially since, staring at that photo, my skin looks the best there than I can ever remember it looking. I have no face makeup on whatsoever, which is a rare occurrence, yet I look dewy and smooth, like a freshly polished statue.

(Do they polish statues?)

skincare
2

About the Creator

Skye Vaillancourt

twenty-something year old writer, painter, yogi, goddess.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.