Blush logo

Facial Surgery Fanclub?

You Bet!

By Tess TimmonsPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
5
Pacific Coast Aesthetics photography

I finished the novel, If I Had Your Face by Frances Cha, learning about girls in Korea who alter their eyelids and more for societal normed beauty. A week later, I found myself puffy-eyed, with a swollen face, standing in a Santa Cruz hotel bathroom, laughing at my reflection in the mirror.

Brooke Ence Photo: BoxRoxCompetative Fitness Magazine

I proudly follow Brooke Ence and Jeanna Cianciarulo, two talented, funny, kind women. Brooke is a CrossFit Champion Athlete, owner of Encewear clothing line, Naked Training Program, and Athia skincare. Her YouTube channel motivates me to get off the sofa, and make something of my day.

Ence's podcast, Between the Reps is co-hosted with best friend Jeanna Cianciarulo, a Santa Cruz native, gym owner, long-time entrepreneur (raised by entrepreneurs) and proud mom. These ladies keep everyone laughing so hard, we almost forget it's Covid. During the lockdown, their podcast became a social hour in my apartment. I needed companionship during quarantine and they provided that and much more! Not only can you find these incredible women on Instagram, but their podcast has Between the Reps has its own page too. Fans cross their fingers that soon, a Yuk Yuk Slipper Set will be for purchase.

Picture from Audible.com

On Between the Reps, Brooke and Jeanna in August of 2020 interviewed April Umek PA-C, owner of Pacific Coast Aesthetics. April's background in medicine drew me into the conversation right away. April promoted two laser skin treatments on the podcast. First, the BBL BroadBand Light™, the world’s most powerful technology for treating sun-damaged skin (age spots), redness/rosacea, small facial vessels, and acne. Second, Halo the world’s first Hybrid Fractional Laser combines wavelengths to remove aged tissue and stimulate collagen, giving skin a younger, healthier, and more vibrant appearance, with long-lasting results. For example, to correct fine lines, pores, discoloration (including melasma/sun damage), and scars. Click on this link to not only read more about it but watch the videos, and see the before and after pictures.

Several of my family members had sun damage on their noses. My grandfather and a few uncles had the skin cancer removed. It wasn't a friendly procedure. Afterward, all three of them had large chunks of their nose cut out; the cancer was gone which is great, but the procedure also left a gaping hole in each of their noses.

I decided the BBL and Halo procedure would be a great preventative skincare action for me. I'm 42 years old, and I want to help myself age gracefully, but I also want to prevent harm to my skin. I called to set up an appointment at Pacific Coast Aesthetics and was told I could do an over-the-phone consultation since I live outside the area. April Umek PA-C, stayed on the phone with me for over an hour, explaining her process, identifying my skincare needs from pictures I sent her, and answered off-the-topic questions for me about menopause. This consultation was free and I appreciated the care she was giving to me not only as a potential client but as a woman.

These procedures are not cheap. The Halo costs around $1500.00 and the BBL costs around $550. The HALO treatment is once a year and the BBL treatment can happen twice a year. The price to me is of value when thinking of preventing skin cancer. The cost also eliminates me purchasing foundation to cover my skin, and other facial procedures like needling kits from home.

My family and friends back home were supportive but a mix of comments such as: "don't end up like a Kardashian" or "so California" popped up, which I understand. I too don't want to end up in Frances Cha's next novel. But I've also learned to let go of what others do to their bodies.

I drove down to Santa Cruz with glee. I was a little nervous but very excited to be thinking preventatively about healthcare especially during Covid. When I first arrived Kristen Crawford gave me concrete instructions on how to apply the numbing cream to my face and set me up with care in my room; giving me a blanket (which felt really great), while I filled out paperwork.

When April walked into the room, I was a bit awestruck, here is the lady I watched on Between the Reps, who talked with me on the phone! She completed the entire procedure on me, which made me feel confident in the work. While the lasers were scanning over my face, she was talking me through the science behind it. She also made sure to test the level of... (pain basically) laser that she zaps onto the face. She explained to me that the laser was going to go deeper into a scar on my cheek, which I am excited to remove. She explained how the laser was zapping away capillaries that are created near one's nose from eyeglasses and sunglasses. She compassionately checked in on me to see how I was doing.

After the procedure Princess Galvan, another caring employee took me to another room where I held a giant tube of freezing air to my face. It was comical and amazing how technology is able to help our desires. I was shown pictures of the swelling that would happen overnight and to not be alarmed. I was told several times what creams I would need to put on and the instructions were given to me on paper as well. I also purchased their Skin Ceuticals Gentle Cleanser Cream and a tinted Elta MD Skincare UV Clear Broad-Spectrum SPF 46.

"This girl is on FIRE" Alicia Keys was ringing in my ear.

I am not going to lie, my face was on FIRE. Luckily I had a can of spray water Pacific Coast gave me. As I drove off with sunscreen on my face, I sprayed that water at every red light. I'm sure I looked weird to any wandering eyes from cars nearby. I also contacted Jeanna from Between the Reps! As I hit send on the picture above explaining to Jeanna that I just completed the HALO, BBL treatment I wondered if I was a stalker or just an excited fan, who can reach out via social media to someone who has experienced a similar journey of fire face. She wrote me back!!! What glee! That is the power of positive social media. Being able to directly contact the people you admire, share an experience and root each other on.

Chubby Baby Cheeks Day Two

Day two my skin felt foreign to me, sticky. When washing my face I wasn't supposed to rub it, so I ended up splashing my face and the hotel bathroom counter with water.

UnderCover Vacation aka Grateful for a Mask

I was staying at a hotel but didn't want to wear a mask on my face too long. So, rather than go to a restaurant or wander a mall, I stopped into Whole Foods to grab recycle straws so my lasered lips could heal; and some food. The checkout essential workers, were kind to me as they tried to not stare at my Cicalfate Moisturizer which didn't soak into my face. I looked like a zinc oxide commercial. The Joker with white makeup smeared haphazardly around my face. If there were a time to be grateful for a mask and a hat, it was then! Who did I know in Santa Cruz anyway? I'm not running into anyone. (She reflects while posting pictures to a worldwide platform). On the way home from the store I pulled over, making sure I saw a bit of the ocean, after all this was a ...vacation?

Day 4 the swelling under my eyes was a bit concerning as I was heading back to work soon. Would people think I was punched in the face? That I finally had my wisdom teeth out? I laughed. Yes, this procedure was for preventative measures but let's face it, a little vanity too.

Day 4

This next step was scientifically incredible. The picture below at a glance might seem like freckles, but in actuality, this is the skin damage from beneath the surface of the skin coming out! When it falls off your skin, it's just like a light peel that one experiences after a sunburn. The brown flecks turn into peeled skin that comes right off onto a washcloth.

Brown flecks that fall off

I still had a bit of the "flecks" on my face in the picture below, but luckily they seem like freckles; so I was able to work and not think about it. I don't have any foundation on in the picture below.

Final Stages

Was I heavily influenced? Did I just spend money on a product pushed my way? No. I really enjoyed learning the science behind it, and investing in a female doctor who can support my skin. Hey, if you end up influenced by me...tell Pacific Coast Aesthetics I sent you; I'm headed back there in August.

*Thank you for reading this article. If you liked it click the heart. If you want to leave a tip that supports artists, I appreciate it.

skincare
5

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.