Blush logo

Disney Princesses turned Gore

A Halloween twist on Disney classic Princesses and Villains

By Stephanie ZhangPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
8
DISCLAIMER: images contain blood, this is makeup!!

Ever since I was a young girl, I loved Disney.

When I was seven years old, I went out in public for three days in a row in my pink Sleeping Beauty costume, unashamed, just happy, pretending to be a princess in everyday suburban life. However, when I entered that period of time where we start to care excessively about what we look like, almost to a fault, I realized I didn't relate to or resonate with the Disney Princesses prior to Mulan's release in 1989.

Fast forward to 2020 when the world was shook by COVID-19, I just graduated in May from the Fashion Institute of Technology in NYC with a Fashion Design degree and moved back home, unemployed and shaken about what I wanted to do career wise and who I was as a person and artist.

Makeup has always been a big part of my life, ever since middle school and throughout college. However, I used it as a a means to make myself prettier, cover up my insecurities, and to create a veil. It wasn't until about two years ago when I picked up my makeup brushes in the same way I picked up a pencil to sketch or paint; I started using makeup as an artistic outlet, with my face as the blank canvas, and it felt extremely liberating. Tying together my long self-love journey to appreciating, not hiding, my Asian facial features with the design process I've honed in on during university, I approached makeup as I would with design and/or art, seeking inspiration from fine art, film, and television.

I walked the streets of NYC in a full face of color nearly every day and no one cared, and therefore I felt free and confident in who I was and was becoming.

Makeup became an intense passion of mine, and COVID-19 pushed me to consider it as a serious career option as opposed to the fashion industry, so I began creating and posting my art on Instagram (@stephs_monolids), YouTube (stephsmonolids), TikTok (@stephs_monolids), and began doing makeup on editorial photoshoots and films. This Halloween month is my first as a makeup artist, so it almost felt necessary to start it off with this Disney series. It's something so nostalgic and dear to my heart, and I constantly watch the animated and live-action movies. But, I also wanted to tackle the feelings of never feeling connected to or lesser-than these idols of mine as a child because I did not have blonde hair and blue eyes, as most of these classic Princesses do.

Taking control of the artistic direction and doing a gore version in addition to the normal, Princess look was liberating and something I felt was unique. Each Princess' looks are as follows:

  1. Snow White - poisoned by the apple
  2. Belle from Beauty and the Beast - fell in the rose garden of the Beast
  3. Cinderella - cut face from the shattered fragments of the glass slipper
  4. Ariel from The Little Mermaid - plastic pollution
  5. Maleficent - no gore version, but just a strong Disney character that I love and appreciate

Snow White

Snow White

Belle

Belle

Cinderella

Cinderella

Ariel

Ariel

Maleficent, inspired by the live-action version

This was my first time venturing into the SFX side of makeup, and overall, I feel so satisfied and in love with what I've created. It was a learning curve, for these looks as well as in general with experimental makeup, but doing this series across all my social media platforms was extremely fulfilling and I hope you enjoy them as much as I do. Happy Halloween!

makeup
8

About the Creator

Stephanie Zhang

experimental makeup artist painting my face for the fun of it

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.