Blush logo

Disney Princesses Started the Trend - Long Hair is Always In

Beauty and power begin with the hair style

By Brenda MahlerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Me (middle) with daughters, Kat (left) Kari (right). Image from author's photo album.

Most little girls want to be a Disney princess when they are little. I was no exception. Born in the 60s, my indoctrination taught me to believe that beauty came in the form of women with long hair. Young female royalty always got the handsome prince and lived happily ever after. So, of course, I wanted to be just like them, Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty.

I remember one Christmas I received a long, flowing nightgown that touched the ground and swept around my legs when I walked. I wore that every night the following year. Before bed I would sit in front of the mirror and brush my hair 100 times channeling the grace and confidence required of a princess.

Long, beautiful hair is the key to drawing in a prince. It also makes for a handy ladder when you need to escape. TheSalonBusiness.com

Brenda Mahler, me, as a teen. Image taken from author's photo album.

As I grew older, long hair still defined beauty; however, girls became more daring and independent. Wearing a jean jacket, with hair parted down the middle, I became a rebel that challenged my mother’s warnings about presenting myself as a sophisticated lady of elegance and class. Farrah Fawcett displayed the qualities I aspired to and just like any good angel (reference to Fawcett’s role in the TV show Charlie’s Angels), I wanted to kick butt.

The desired result of this fad placed me as the leading lady in control of my destiny and my man, just like the princesses I grew up with. Only later in life was I enlighten that my passions stemmed from long held believes install in females by men.

By Michael Förtsch on Unsplash

The story of Samson and Delilah, Judges 16:19, reinforces the power in long hair. Pictures of Jesus show him with long hair. Even iconic images of angels feature women with long hair. Phycologists’ research data shares that women with long hair are perceived as confident, intelligent, energetic, passionate, and adventurous. And every shampoo commercial portrays long hair cascading over the shoulders of beautiful women because it sells the product.

When I gave birth to baby girls, cutting their hair was never considered an option. As they grew, both followed the same patterns that I progressed through. When they were little, I had the power to dress them up in pretty dresses, style their hair in curls and play princess with my darlings. In their youth, they emulated Ariel, Belle and Jasmine.

Our youngest daughter, Kat, with long hair in her graduation picture. Image taken from author's photo album.

When they matured to adolescents, I suddenly empathized with my mother from years earlier. They made decisions about personal styles and from somewhere emerged casual worn jackets and the curls disappeared. They moved from sweet innocence to young ladies who needed to express themselves, defy the norms, and express their individuality, which looked like every other teenager of the time. All I could do was shake my head as I opened the door to liberation.

Trends come, go, and then come again. Hair is cut into layers, shortened to a bob, and the pixie style reemerges. But eventually the long locks return, a fashion that will forever remain consistent from our past, during the present and into the future.

History repeated itself when the grandchildren arrived, all girls. The two oldest copied the style of all the beauties of the past but added Pocahontas and Rapunzel to the mix. They grew from princesses to progressive young women. As I observed, the power of hair styles became clear. A woman who controls her style, gains control of her future.

Eliza, Kari's daughter. Image taken from author's photo album.
Jodi, the oldest granddaughter. Image taken from photo album.

The moment a girl begins to make decisions about her hair, is the moment she matures and develops her identity. At first, her character is based on the influence of others but as she becomes more self-assured the characteristics emerge that define her personality.

Then along came Kinsley. At the age of one, before our granddaughter adorned long hair, she already loved watching Moana and listening to her sing. The picture below is from her first birthday party. It is inspiring to watch the evolution of Disney characters become more inclusive so she can see someone who resembles her on the big screen.

Kinsley sporting the Moana look. Image taken from photo album.

Recently, my thoughts were reaffirmed. Kinsley asked her mother to style her hair like Elsa. She is in the princess stage, of course. The moment I looked at the elegant plaited hair, a wave of knowledge washed over me. The color, the style, the length of hair is not what is important. What is important in fashion is the ability to fit in while remaining an individual. I realized long hair is always in style for someone, somewhere.

Kinsley with her Elsa hair. Image from author's photo album.

Fashion trends will be everchanging but ultimately, young girls will grow from little princesses to opinionated teens to the independent women who will rule the world.

Hair doesn't make the woman but good hair definitely helps. - Anonymous

Brenda Mahler, me, at 60. Image from author's photo album.

Now at the age of 60, I find myself growing my hair out, maybe trying to relive my youth or looking for the princess in my soul. As it grows, I see a little bit of the relaxed, free spirit from long ago. Maybe that is what retirement is all about. Thank goodness long hair is a fad that will always be acceptable.

hair
1

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.