Blush logo

Color My Skin At 57

I Still Look 40

By Melanie CranePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
3
Color My Skin At 57
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

At seventeen I went thru a window. My mothers whole life after that was to help me disguise the scars. My beautiful seventeen year old face took eighteen stitches around my eye and six on my chin. The cavern that was created down my nose...nothing could be done. It would heal. As soon as we got home from Mexico, we had been visiting family, it became my mothers mission that I would learn to use make-up in a professional way. The scars needed to be hidden. Not really for my sake, but for hers. I was a more natural girl. I never really wore a full face. But now, I would learn.

She found a professional who would show me how to put all this glop on my face to hide the scars. This bottle was blue, this one was green, pink, yellow, blah, blah, blah. Eventually, I settled for eye liner, lipstick and mascara. Really that's all you need. I was never a glamour shot. I was never a diva. I was and still am a simple, give me what I need kinda make-up girl. But I went along with what my mother wanted.

I used Lancome for awhile and still use their make up remover. It's the total goat for removing eye liner. One swipe and your done. As I got older it started to feel like it was making me look older. The colors didn't look complete on me. I went to Estee Lauder. Very nice make up. But as I was against animal cruelty I stopped using them. I L-O-V-E-D MAC. The colors were AWESOME. Everything hit the right notes with me. Then one day I went in to a MAC store with my daughter. . .I was ignored. I mean completely ignored. Then I was told that they waited on the younger crowd first because they were the ones who wore their product. I pointed out my eye liner. Then I pointed out that all the girls in the store had their mothers with them. Who did they think held the money and the credit cards? I haven't been back since.

So, now I'm fifty-seven. After much searching, trying, discovering and using these are the go to products I've consistently used for the past five years.

Wearing a mask all day and working in the operating room can dry out your skin and also make it dirty. A cotton ball with Simple Micellular Water is all I need. The first time I used this I was disgusted to see all the dirt come off my face. The great thing is that it leaves my face moisturized, not dry. It's great for my sensitive skin. Speaking of sensitive skin, I use Simple Moisturizing Face Wash every morning and every night. Again, it leaves the skin feeling moisturized and not dry. Three times a week I use a gentle exfoliating sponge on my face to get rid of the dead skin cells.

The Japanese and the Koreans have some of the most beautiful skin in the world. While searching for a new moisturizer for my aging skin I found a Korean company with great products. Natures Republic. I love their Snail emulsion and the Essence. This two step product is absolutely the best. I know your says "EWWWWWW, snail slime"! But, it is ethically sourced and it evens out your skin tone, makes your skin soft and moisturizes perfectly. I used to have to change creams as the weather changed. Not anymore. This works no matter the seasons. It's so good my daughter stole it from me. It evened out her skin and helped her get rid of her adult acne. It's a bit pricey. It's so totally worth it.

Now for COLOR! I'm an ethical girl. If it's not ethically made, if animals are harmed in the making of the product, if the packaging is not biodegradable, it is not going in my house. So, what color fit all these requirements?

URBAN DECAY

Urban Decay has all the above requirements. They are animal friendly, no animal testing. Their packaging is biodegradable. They are vegan. What else could you want? Oh, color! Their color are the G.O.A.T! I mean their colors are awesome! I can find night time going out anywhere colors. Daytime work colors. Bright, fun, demonstrative colors! Their collections have everything you need you to any type of eye you would like. And to keep it all in place there is the Primer Potion. Glide this on, wait a second for it to dry and go for that color. I have rubbed my eyes and still had my color stay in place. You can also get it in three different colors. So there's a complexion match. The 24/7 Glide Eye Pencils are just that, glide pencils. These are the best I've ever tried. They are very silky and they don't pull your eye. The colors are fantastic! Lip gloss, lip sticks just glide and the color stays. The are silky and moisturizing. The glosses are not sticky and the color stays true. Ok, so... what about mascaras? I love their mascaras. I use a waterproof since I'm in the operating room. This stuff stay good all day. I have even rubbed my eyes and gotten no smudging! It's great for everyday. And because it's vegan it does not irritate. This is my go to color and I'll never change it.

I'm also going to mention that I use Origins Black Charcoal Mask to get the nasties out of my pores. And, Mario Bedescu night products. The Vitamin C Serum, The Seaweed Night Cream and the Overnight Eye Cream. Mario has been around since I was a little girl. All the important celebrities used Mario and went to his spas. So, that's it. My go to cosmetics at the age of fifty-seven. Keeping it young and healthy. And, always looking good.

makeup
3

About the Creator

Melanie Crane

I've been writing since the day I was born. It's a gift. Hopefully, there is something in my writing that appeals to you somewhere in your soul. Short stories, religion, poetry. Please enjoy my space and visit often. Thank you for visiting.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.