Blush logo

Best Hair Products For Curly Hair

To Straighten or Wear Natural

By Courtney BenjaminPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Best Hair Products For Curly Hair
Photo by Jonas Svidras on Unsplash

If you are like me and one of the 11% of women to have naturally curly hair in the world today! yes, 11%! I was actually mind-blown when I read that statistic. I have one more that may blow your mind; only 4% of the world's female population is a natural blonde. But I digress. I have spent 48 years of my life tortured by naturally curly hair, only stumbling on manageable hairstyles in my early 30s. Granted curling irons, hairdryers, and products that promised to shape your hair in ways God never intended or with a soft subtle touch that never delivered have flooded the market for years, then curling irons and rollers were soon replaced by flat irons which pressed your hair in between 2 scorching hot plates that were supposed to glide through your hair effortlessly leaving nothing but a nice shiny straight piece, what a load of bull that turned out to be. Or am I the only one that got my hair pulled while it smoked only to be left with a crimp that went through the middle parallel, and frizz, after all, was said and done? I certainly hope I wasn't the only one tortured by these devices that never did what they said they would. I know most women who have curly hair have always dreamed of those straight silky shiny locks, dreaming of waking up in the morning rolling out of bed, just simply running a brush through, and being ready to face the world like you just walked out of a salon. Let's not forget about the infomercials? A frenemy of the sleep-deprived looking for the next best miracle. I am about to deliver some products I have used over the years and just recently that I feel should be a staple in every curly hair goddesses bathroom.

I do want to say I am not being paid for promoting these items I just feel like these products deliver exactly what they say they will, and they shouldn't be kept a secret. If you know these products great! If you don't then you certainly will be happy if you try them, Now I know not all products work the same for all people, and I am going to give you my honest opinion both good and bad to help you know which are worth trying and what can be skipped. Let's start with L'ange hair tools, actually, let me back up to the original straightener I use to live by and actually still do. The Instyler, This hands down is the best straightener I have used, and it works on all hair types, I use to have to go to the salon and get my hair trimmed when using a flat iron, and even after that I may have been able to get away with straightening my hair twice, at the most three times, before I would get the split ends and frizz, what I love about the Instyler I could straighten my hair 3- 4 times a week and it would look the exact same each time, no frizz, no flyaways, and certainly, no split ends, now if you have naturally curly hair most people don't wash their hair every day, and I know I don't recommend it, it just kills the curl and dries out your hair leading to the frizz, and when you do straighten naturally curly hair you don't need to wash it every day either, my hair is super dry from years of dying it, I can usually go 3 days with straight hair before it starts to look oily, if your hair gets oily pretty easy just invest in a bottle of dry shampoo and poof oil look gone! But once again I ran off track, L'ange, they have a line of products that work great for straightening curly hair, they have the duo which is a straightener and curling iron in one.

The Instyler

Instyler Wet to Dry

The Instyler says it can be used on wet hair, I have never tried it, nor would I, this can be used on dry hair only as well, although they make several of this type of design the original was silver with an orange top, it was sold with a carrying case and a sectioning comb, I do not know if they still do that but this product is available almost anywhere now which for the longest time you could only purchase it through their website.

The other recommendations I have are:

Le Duo from L'ange

Sold in 2 colors Le Duo from L'ange.

The next product that is an absolute must for me is Le Volume I know you probably have seen these in the stores, but I am telling you to forget all those and get this one, it is worth the extra money.

Le Volume by L'ange

Le Volume from L'ange

And last but certainly not least The Le Vite, I actually purchased a couple of brushes similar to this before stumbling on this particular brush, I am always willing to give a product a second chance especially if it is made by a different company, and since I was hooked on the Le Volume I decided to give every one of their products a try, This is the only brush in this design that actually works, hands down the best of the best.

Sold in 2 colors Le Vite by L'ange

I have tried a few of their hair products the only one I actually think that is worth buying now I am speaking products not tools. is L'ange Glass Hair, this is a pre-blow dryer spray I have used it on dry hair prior to straightening it it a thermal protection spray, the other is L'ange Silkening Nectar which is a frizz fix after straightening leave-in serum.

Cuvee Air Dry Mist

Now let's say you don't even want to straighten your hair at all, this is actually what inspired me to even start this article. Cuvee, if you have never heard of this company I am telling you as a person with curly hair you need to know this name Cuvee, this company sells products specifically designed for curly hair and oh my God ladies and gentlemen these you need to run out and buy like right now. They have this air-dry cream although they call it a mist, and frankly, this is really all you will ever need it costs $35 for a 5oz. bottle although they sell it in travel sizes (1.7oz) as well for half that price, It is really not a mist, it is too thick to spray in your hair directly and you will definitely not get even coverage, it is best to spray it in your hands and distribute it evenly with your fingers, and the smell is to die for (Yes it smells that good in my opinion) and it lasts for a long time and you don't really need a lot, they do sell shampoo and conditioner but I was using the air dry mist with my regular shampoo and I haven't noticed a difference with their shampoo and conditioner so this definitely can be used with any shampoo and conditioner of your choice I am telling you if your curls have become limp and or lifeless you need to try this product, it works every time, it leaves your hair soft and subtle and smelling great, it will definitely change your life, my curls have not been this defined since my late 20s. Feel free to ask any questions, I'll be more than happy to answer them as best I can.

hair
Like

About the Creator

Courtney Benjamin

An actress and writer with over 70K reads across all platforms, Stories available on Dorian and Episodes, as well as Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.