Blush logo

Becoming a Podcaster

My Journey

By Harriet West-MoorePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Starting a podcast was a vision that I created in my mind ever since I started listening to various podcast shows. My favorite type of show is true-crime. I've always had an interest in true crime and the elements of the stories told. Maybe, it is because of my 30 years of experience working in the criminal justice system, or maybe it is my forensic psychology background in studying the criminal mind. But then, I have another type of interest; hair I love talking about African-American hair. I love buying hair products and experimenting with my hair. The black hair industry is a billion to trillion dollar industry with many products that are manufactured for us to purchase. Each product attempts to convince us that whatever ingredients that are in the product will help to moisturize, soften or promote growth in our hair. So of course, I tried all type of products to challenge their claims. My hair was essentially like a laboratory, where I would experiment with this style, that product, this treatment, that conditioning, etc., with some positive results and some negative. I'd figured if I'm a hair product "junkie"; addicted to buying different hair products, there must be others out here who are the same.

When you watch YouTube, you will see all types of videos of how-tos when it comes to black hair care. African-American women want to know how to care for their hair, whether their hair is in its natural state-meaning no chemical alteration of the hair strands, or chemically-treated, i.e. relaxed, hair colored, etc. With all the information that are available on Youtube channels, on blogs, in magazine articles, I thought, why not create a podcast and have live chats with hair professionals to discuss the issues, advice and how-tos surrounding black hair care. So, I took a chance and reached out to those who are creating their own hair products to see if they would be interested in being a featured guest on my podcast to discuss their expertise in hair care and the products they have created. I received overwhelming response, so I had to get out of my comfort zone and jump right into putting my voice out there for the public to hear. As an introvert by nature, it was a daunting thought for me to put myself in the forefront. But the subject of hair was something I enjoy discussing and learning about, so I wanted to share that interest with others. Since starting my episodes, in the first week of January, 2021 I had great feedback from people who have listened to my shows and the information that is being talked about. My website, www.moorehairproductsgalore is now my platform to for hair. I also write blogs on my website about hair topics and encourage an open dialog among women who want to discuss their challenges and triumphs about their hair.

Becoming a podcaster has given me the opportunity to have a voice and to connect and share information with others who has the same interests as I do. I'm glad that I've decided to do it afraid. Now my plans to host open-mic night with guests and my viewers are coming to fuition and I see nothing but positive things in the future.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Harriet West-Moore

I work full-time in the legal field as well as being an entrepreneur and a podcaster. I have 2 online businesses that I've created and maintain. www.moorehairproductsgalore.com, and www.moorenaturallyyou.com. I love working with people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.