Blush logo

Acne: It's Not Me, It's You

Follow me on my journey of “breaking up” with my acne.

By Desiree PerezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Credit:RomarioIen

Ever since I can remember, I have struggled with acne. It's been in different forms, but nonetheless, it's acne. Lately, within the past couple months I have been having an extremely difficult time handling my acne. This acne is worse than the acne I had when I was a pre-pubescent teenager. It is the final straw. I have to end this.

"I think we should see other people."

Okay, okay. I know that to some people this may not be that bad, but for me this is really bad. This acne is extremely irritated and inflamed and that is something that I have never had before. Most of my acne has been in the form of blackheads. They have always just been under my skin rather than huge bumps on my face. You always hear that once you reach adulthood the acne subsides, but I'm 23 and my acne is still rolling with the punches.

"I don't really see a future together."

Any and all attempts that I have put into place have either failed miserably or have not lasted long enough for me to be able to see the impact. I have decided that no longer will I let myself tolerate this nonsense called acne! This must stop and I am willing to do whatever it takes to bring this madness to a halt! I long for skin as smooth and soft as a baby's bottom!

So, why do I want to do this?

Okay, you got me! Honestly, I really do want great skin and that is, like, eighty five percent of why I am doing this. However, there is another reason I'm doing this. So I can't say it's all completely sincere.

I AM GETTING MARRIED!!!

Yes, it is true! We have set the date to be mid-May so I have just about five months to prepare! I am so very excited and I can't wait to marry my soon-to-be husband! However, with wedding planning, working a full-time job, going to school, and other various extra curricular's I will have to say that getting rid of my acne may not be for the faint of heart!

The Game Plan!

http://www.integralhospitality.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/Game-Plan.jpg

I will be trying out various products, routines, and maybe even a couple home remedies to nip my acne in the bud. I will be trying everything from generic to name brand. Every week I plan to have a new product and we'll take a look and see how effectively it works and if it's worth a try! Please follow me on this journey to clear skin for my wedding day!

Coming This Week

Like I said, most of the time I get a new routine going, I never stick with it. This week, I'm going to attempt to stick to a solid skin care routine! I will be using the same products that I have been using from the beginning and we're going to see what happens when I stick to a consistent routine for the week. I'm hoping that it does SOMETHING to my skin, but I can't say for sure whether it will or not.

The Nitty Gritty

In order to establish some order and consistency throughout this process, I will be keeping the steps of my daily skincare routine the same. The only thing that will change are the products that I'm using. The steps will be as follows:

  • Cleanse
  • Tone
  • Moisturize

Once a week I will be doing some kind of deep cleanse that will include either a mask or a scrub. I will also submit before and after pictures for each week.

*P.S. I LITERALLY FEEL LIKE A SCIENTIST AND I'M DIGGING IT :)

Anyway, I will try to be as detailed as possible and we'll see if we can get rid of this thing together!

If you are going through the same struggle, let me know! I'd love to hear some tips on how you cope with your acne!

face
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.