Beat logo

Your Playlist for Next Week

Bangin Tunes You Need to Get You Through the Week

By Sara Al MahdyPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Today I thought I'd post something a bit different. Over the past couple of weeks I've been discovering and dipping into a lot of new and different music, so I thought I'd make a quick playlist of songs that I've been loving and write a bit about why I love them so much.

1. Anderson .Paak - "TINTS" (feat. Kendrick Lamar)

This song is everything I've been needing. Two of my favourite artists ever both bringing their sounds together on this fabulous, funky track. Move over Bruno Mars, is this the new synth funk duo of the century?? I'm here for it. I love it. Give me more. Where is the album?

2. "Boo'd Up" - Ella Mai

Ella Mai is so incredibly underrated. Her voice on this track is wonderful, and it's impossible not to feel good listening to this song. She's definitely one to watch on the R&B scene, as she's really doing something different with her sound. If you like chill R&B and good vibes, you need this song.

3. Dave - "Funky Friday" (feat. Fredo)

Dave is one of my favourite UK rappers right now. Everything he puts out is such quality, he really deserves more recognition. This track is just cold. There really is no other way to describe it. The callousness of Dave's verses, the addictive hook, and Fredo as a feature, just makes for an incredible song all around. If you're into the grime scene, Dave is the ONE in my opinion.

4. Kojo Funds - "Dun Talkin" (feat. Abra Cadabra)

Kojo Funds is on the rise man. Pretty soon he's gonna be one of the biggest names in UK grime. His debut album, Golden Boy, just came out, and the whole thing is bangin. With a star studded feature list, including Giggs, Bugzy Malone, Raye, Kranium, and Abra Cadabra, Kojo really makes his mark on the scene on this album. So far, this is my favorite track. Definitely give it a listen.

5. The Prodigy - "Need Some1"

I'm not that well versed on electronic music, but this song is straight up brilliant. The structure of the track blows my mind every time I listen. When someone pisses you off this week, play it on full blast and jump around. You'll feel better.

6. Mostack - "Litness"

What do I even say about this track. Too good.

7. Bugzy Malone - "We Don't Play"

This was the first song of Bugzy Malone's that I heard that made me think, yep, this is definitely the king of the North, as he boldly claims. This really has been Malone's year. He's suddenly become one of the biggest names in grime, and just off EPs alone.

8. RAY BLK - "Empress" and "Run Run"

I'm so ready for her album to drop. The two songs that have been released off the Empress album thus far have both been absolutely amazing, and just show how much RAY has improved and progressed since she first started. Targeting so many social issues felt by London youth, RAY is the change we need to see on the scene. Pre-order the album, because it's sure to be an absolute smash hit.

9. ROSALIA - "Malamente"

This is just such a good song. We're gonna be hearing a lot more from Rosalia, mark my words.

10. Disclosure - "Where Angels Fear to Tread"

If you haven't heard the new disclosure stuff; what have you been doing?? Disclosure are doing something that no other electronic artists are doing at the moment, and I love it. This song is fantastic, I'm so excited for an album.

11. Wet - "Deadwater"

The first time I heard this song was back in 2016, but I revisited it recently and remembered exactly why I love Wet so much.

12. Tom Misch - "Crazy Dream" (feat. Loyle Carner)

TOO. GOOD.

13. "Broke" - Samm Henshaw

I heard this song about a month ago and didn't really find it that special, and I kind of forgot that it existed for a while, until I heard him interviewed by Julie Adenuga on Beats 1 radio (highly recommend Julie's show). He was such a down to earth guy who seemed to really know what he was talking about when it came to his music, and upon listening to it again in a different frame of mind I really enjoyed the instrumentation, structure, and melody of the R&B tune. Definitely a good- vibe track to add to your playlists.

Anyway. I guess that's it from me this week. Enjoy the brilliant music on this list.

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Sara Al Mahdy

I'm Sara, a girl with a passion for music, art, politics and science. I write a weekly column where I review and promote artists that I think are doing something great.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.