Beat logo

Women Leaders in the Music Industry

Interview with Nichelle Walker

By Lamore Lifestyle Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Nichelle Walker is a Chicago native, hailing from the westside of the city. Growing up in the inner city Nichelle knew that she wanted to make a change in her environment. In 2007 she created a publishing company called "NWMassMedia" where she successfully published many novels. With a successful run in publishing Nichelle created New Wave Music Group a record label. She wanted her son to go to college, but he wanted to be a rapper. She was hesitant at first, but says she quickly remembered someone believing in her when she wanted to be a writer. She told her son to bring her something back she could invest in. She says he brought her an amazing song and she created the record label the next day. Nichelle has a conglomerate of businesses in different industries. It was an honor to sit in speak with Nichelle about her record label and other business ventures.

•Who is your business role model and why?

Nichelle: Master P. Under my Just IV Fun brand I have coined myself the Female Master P, I feel his knowledge and accomplishments are solid. If I can get to achieve a 5th of what he’s done, I will be grateful.  Since I was younger I loved his thought process and how he moved. He is fearless and doesn’t back down from a challenge and he’s not afraid to take chances or risks. He has taught me to bet on myself and do the work.

•Let’s get into the music. What projects are you and your team currently working on?

Nichelle: I have a few musically projects dropping this year. My artist Keno is releasing a project, as well as Cay Da Prince and myself. My project will be turned into a mini tv series, so I am really excited about that.

 

•Name 3 women in the music industry that inspire you. 

Nichelle: There are so many, but my top would be, Tracy Edmonds, Sylvia Rhone and Sonja Norwood.

 

•Tell us about your son. What is his artist name?  

Nichelle: My son is great, his artist name is Keno. He has built up a fan base, I am very proud of his growth. He works day in and day out to live out his dreams.

 

 •What type of music does he create? 

Nichelle: He creates, I don’t know what to call it, young people music (haha) it’s a mix between Lil Durk and Juice World, you know this music is different in this generation.

 

•What tips can you give parents who want their child to go to college, but the child may have other dreams? 

Nichelle: I would say pay attention to your kids; you know by 10th grade if your child is school material. There are so many other ways to make money, so keep in mind that the goal is to help make your kids successful, rather that be via college, a trade or entrepreneurship. It’s a lot we can help our children with and not feel disappointed if they didn’t go to college. Trades make more than someone with a college degree sometimes. Let’s say if you are a real estate agent you can get your child ready to become one senior year, take them out with you show them the ropes. We can’t make our kids live out our failed dreams, remember it’s never to late to live yours, go back to school and get your degree if that’s what you want.

 

•What do you have planned for the next six months?

Nichelle: The next six months I have plans on expanding my brands, releasing music and working on my tv series. My goals are set, and I am trying to mark them off my list so I can feel accomplished and successful on 12/31/2022.

Connect with New Wave music group here

feature
1

About the Creator

Lamore Lifestyle

Sharing stories of those in the beauty, fashion, food and entrepreneurship space.

@lamorelifestylepr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.