Beat logo

Women in Music

Interview with Kira Deevah

By Lamore Lifestyle Published 2 years ago 4 min read
1

The music industry has historically underrepresented women. A recent study reported that 21% of all artists are women, 12% are songwriters and only 2% of producers are women. We had the pleasure of recently interviewing one woman making waves and standing out in a major way. She goes by Kira Deevah and she’s by far one of the hardest working women we’ve met.

Shakira Townsend is a humble woman from the streets of Paterson, NJ on a mission to provide generational wealth for her two children.

Kira Deevah, her alter ego, is a fearless entrepreneur who is determined to make a statement in this entertainment industry with not only her looks but her expertise in marketing.

•It’s Women’s History Month. Name 2 women who inspire you and why.

Kira Deevah: The two women who inspire me the most are Oprah Winfrey and Mona Scott Young. I say this because as an American Television Producer, and the CEO of a multi-media entertainment company Mona Scott Young has inspired me to look outside the box and stand firm on a brand that I am passionate about. A woman can be in charge and look good doing it. Ever since I was a child Oprah Winfrey has set the standard in my life. Her evolution is amazing from radio, The Oprah Winfrey show, Movies such as The Color Purple, to her very own television network. This is very much the direction I want to go in. Not sure how many people were impacted by her show Supersoul Sunday. But that show changed my life. She is a woman who's in charge of her life. She is the standard.

What do you love about media, music and the entertainment industry?

Kira Deevah: I'm an extrovert. I enjoy having conversations that have no limit. I enjoy motivating people to want more. I enjoy being that one who is considered different. I feel media will shine a light on the greatness I already have inside of me. Music has always been a passion of mine. I use music to balance my emotions. Although the direction that I'm taking right now in the music industry is more of a management role, I feel this fits me best. I Enjoy handling business and striving for more. But I am made for TV.

What do you feel is lacking in the music industry?

Kira Deevah: What's lacking in this industry is simple. We need more women in charge. Have you ever noticed when you put a woman in charge of something, you for sure know it will get done? We also need the respect for women to be greater than it has ever been. There are so many great women in this industry who don't get the respect they deserve because her looks overshadow her work ethic. How lame. but it happens.

Recently Latto voiced her concerns about how women are treated in the industry. What are your thoughts?

Kira Deevah: As I said in my previous answer it is lame that women are treated this way. What happened to Latto is unfortunately normal in this industry. The majority of men in this industry want something for everything. whether it's a date, trip, sexual encounter, in exchange for whatever they feel you are interested in. Me being from the streets I know how to recognize game from a mile away so it doesn't affect me personally I know how to maneuver. But to these women who don't recognize immediately when someone is trying to waste their time I pray they wake up. It’s not worth it. Stay focused on your plan that way no one can take that from you.

You’ve interviewed a lot of people. Who was one of your favorite interviews?

Kira Deevah: One of my favorite interviews to date was with Cherry Martinez. I followed this woman growing up. Her story is amazing but I do believe she doesn't get the respect she deserves.

Tell us what projects you’re working on. What’s next for Kira Deevah?

Kira Deevah: What's next? I would say big business. My artist OTS L'A of Paterson NJ just released an album "Mentality 2.0". with nothing but hits. We have some amazing videos out right now " Fine wine", and "Intro". Go check them out. More videos on the way. Media Run is now.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Kira Deevah: In five years I see Deevah Entertainment as a multimedia entertainment company with me as the CEO. I also see me having tea with Oprah just taking in everything she has to say. This will happen.

Readers connect with Kira Deevah via her website www.deevahentertainment.com , Email: [email protected], or follow her Instagram here

interview
1

About the Creator

Lamore Lifestyle

Sharing stories of those in the beauty, fashion, food and entrepreneurship space.

@lamorelifestylepr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.