Beat logo

WJSN Unnatural Comeback Review

WJSN New Image?

By ShinxPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

WJSN made their long awaited comeback with Unnatural, and I feel like the title song perfectly describes my feelings towards this comeback.

I have been a fan of WJSN since they debuted with Mo Mo Mo in 2016, and they are best known for their magical and fantastical concepts such as Secret, Save Me Save You, and As You Wish. They also have done fun and youthful summer concepts like Boogie Up and Happy, and always have shown a colorful side to themselves. So when I first saw Unnatural, I was a bit confused, both in a good and bad way.

Unnatural is more of a classy and rich concept, with the song being a funky dance pop track with futuristic elements, and I am a bit surprised Starship gave WJSN this song and concept.

Like I said earlier, they are known for being whimsical and vibrant, so it was a bit jarring to see them go down this darker and richer concept. Honestly this is the type of concept I thought Starship would give to their new girl group with Yujin and Wonyoung, and I thought WJSN would continue on their magical route but make it more mature like they did in Save Me Save You.

But they did a 180 on their concept and I both like and dislike it.

I like it because I am glad the girls got to step a bit outside their usual concepts and present us with something new. They have never done a concept like Unnatural before, so it is nice to see them try something new. The girls also fit the concept well, and I love the song. It is so catchy and fun, all the girls get to shine on this track, and I love the outro because they build upon the chorus and give it a great finale. It is a really good song; however, I also kind of dislike it because I feel like we don’t see WJSN color in this comeback.

Unnatural is a concept that I feel any girl group can do, and it doesn’t have any of WJSN essence in it. With Unnatural I see multiple other girl groups like Weki Meki, Fromis 9, ANS, and Gugudan, and I don’t see any of WJSN individuality in it. The concept also is a bit dull for it being WJSN. WJSN are known to be colorful, elegant, and mystical, while in Unnatural is a bit more bleak.

It doesn’t feel like a WJSN song, and I am also a bit lost with how Starship is managing them. Now Starship isn’t doing a horrendous job, but they are also not giving WJSN as much care as they should. I mean they only gave WJSN one full album in the past 5 years they have been active while Monsta X had at least 5 full albums, WJSN music video seem to have dropped in budget starting with Butterfly, WJSN also doesn’t promote much internationally, and Starship hasn’t gave us a clear statement about china line (Cheng Xiao, Mei Qi, and Xuan Yi) who have been gone for almost 3 years now so they practically left the group.

Now Starship is giving WJSN this different concept that in my honest opinion makes them blend into the background of the hectic kpop scene. Again, it’s not like Unnatural is the worst thing I've ever seen, it is just a bit basic for it being a WJSN song, and doesn’t feel like WJSN. I’m glad WJSN tried a different concept and went outside their box, but they have entered a generic box while doing so.

Personally, I am very conflicted on how I feel about this comeback. I enjoy it, I love classy and elegant concepts, I am glad WJSN tried something different the song is very addictive and fun, yet I feel like WJSN lost a bit of their color in this comeback. I both like but also dislike this comeback. It is really good, it just doesn’t feel like a WJSN comeback.

song reviews
1

About the Creator

Shinx

I write what I want to write

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.