Beat logo

Why I Ran Out of an Advertisement Shoot Screaming - Laycon

Laycon opens up about that fateful day.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Yesterday, Nigerian singer and Big Brother Naija winner Laycon stopped by Channels Television to chat about a couple of things. During the interview, Laycon opened up about a few things but the two highlights of the interview were when he explained why he calls himself a God in a lot of his songs, and when he told a funny story of when and why he ran out in the middle of an advertisement photoshoot. Here is what Laycon said during the highlights of the interview.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Laycon on Channels Television

Firstly, Laycon was questioned on why he always calls himself a god in his music, to which Laycon said:

Talking about my songs and the fact that I always say “I am a God”. On Who is Laycon, the first track on my Who is Laycon EP, that basically kinda introduces me. I say “Who is Laycon” and I say “I am a god in a human body”.

A lot of people think it’s just me being cocky. Yeah, I mean it’s cool, I can be cocky. But then again, when you look at it, you’re not here to be ordinary. Like you were not created to come to this world to just come and live and leave. So I was created by God to come to this world to come and be Him here. I try to make time for a lot of things especially this period when I’m in a cave – a mental cave of growth which is something I do for myself which is where I cage myself and I grow from whosoever I was a few weeks before to another person. It entails me working on myself mentally, physically, spiritually, and all facets of myself. I’m in that space now and I’m reading actually.

Then, Laycon was asked about his Grammy Award performance more importantly, how he reacted when he heard the news that he’d be performing at the Grammys. Laycon in responding told a really interesting story about how he ran out screaming in the middle of an advertisement photoshoot. He said:

I was at a shoot and when they reached out and I got the information, I remember that I ran. I ran from the set. I ran and I was shouting. I ran then the person that was me was like really surprised. Everybody that was with me was actually surprised because it’s a shoot where we were shooting an ad and I just ran. I was yelling and I was screaming and I climbed a sand field that was there and was yelling. I was looking at the phone cuz I needed to be really sure. The song (he performed for the show) depicts a whole lot of things about the fact that you just need to trust yourself in whatever you’re doing regardless of what people say. Just trust yourself and trust the process. When it’s time for the right people to see it, the people who actually know and value what you’re doing, they will see it and they will value you. So I did it and it was one of the most wonderful things I have ever done in this life. I mean it, it’s the Grammys. Tell me any other music body that’s bigger than them. Nah. Nobody can say anything. That’s the Grammys!

I'm sure the people at the photoshoot must have been very confused when Laycon just got up, started running and screaming in the middle of their photoshoot. Now, I hope they understand why 😂.

To watch the full Channels Television interview with Laycon, here it is:

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.