Beat logo

Simi Responds to Fan Who Said She Used Her Pregnancy to Sell Duduke

Perfect response

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Simi is one of the most beloved musicians in the country right now. Her voice, personality, humor, and musical styling is one that a lot of people relate with and enjoy.

Last year, we all celebrated her when she released what went on to become the biggest song of her career, Duduke.

The song, a love letter to her daughter, turned into an anthem all around Nigeria and the world. Expecting mothers especially took the song as their own personal love song to their children, and children all over the world also loved the song. By all accounts, Duduke was a huge smash.

Still, even in the midst of good news and celebration, there are always the naysayers. A number of fans said and still insist that the song only became big because Simi ‘used her pregnancy’. Some people are of the belief that if Simi didn’t reveal her pregnancy in the video or was not pregnant, the song would not have been big.

To get her opinion on the issue, Simi sat down with Pan African Music for interview and during the interview, the interviewer asked her what she thought about people saying that she capitalized on her pregnancy for the song’s success. This is what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Simi

First of all, the interviewer said to Simi:

‘Duduke’ emerged one of the biggest records in Nigeria last year. What went through your mind while making that song?

To which Simi responded:

I just wanted to sing for my baby. I wanted to sum the emotions that I felt while I was pregnant and music happens to be my best outlet. At first, I was unsure about putting it out. It comes with being African whereby you just want to keep such a thing private until it [delivery] finally happens but I was itching to share. So, I said why not? It’s that simple.

Then, the interviewer asked her:

What’s your take on people alluding the entire success of the song to the sentimentality of being pregnant?

To which Simi responded:

I don’t care, really [laughs]. I don’t go around blowing my own trumpet but I do know for sure that I’m good at what I do. I put in the work and nobody will say I can’t sing because I know that I sure can. I’m not the best singer in the world but I can sing. So, if anyone thinks the only reason why a song is doing well is because I’m pregnant, I honestly don’t care. If that’s why you’re listening to it, good for you. If they liked it because I’m pregnant, that’s not necessarily a bad thing. There are also people listening to it for other reasons, good for them too.

Simi and her daughter

Perfect response. Yes, it is no doubt that the pregnancy contributed to the popularity of the song – that one is undeniable. But if the song was trash, pregnancy or no pregnancy it wouldn’t have taken off. The song is an amazing song, and so the song being so good perfectly tying in with her pregnancy – it was a perfect concoction of success and the song took off. Simi is wildly talented. She’d gotten hits before her pregnancy, she’s gotten hits after her pregnancy. To reduce all that hardwork to “oh, it was only big because of her pregnancy” is simply lazy thinking. Those are just my thoughts. What do you think? Let me know in the comments section of my Facebook post, I’ll love to hear your thoughts.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.