Beat logo

Why I'm The Most Misunderstood Person in the Industry - Seyi Shay Explains

"It's typical of Nigerians"

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

2021 was quite the year for Nigerian singer/songwriter, Seyi Shay. By all accounts, the songstress ended up being undoubtedly one of the most hated Nigerian celebrities of the past year.

First, her stint on Nigerian Idol where she was very tough on contestants and gave harsh criticisms made a lot of people turn against her and dislike her. This of course was the most extreme when she told a contestant that he would never make money singing - a comment that Nigerians bashed her for and made her the number 1 trending topic in the nation for all the wrong reasons.

Seyi Shay on Nigerian Idol

Then came her fight with fellow Nigerian singer, Tiwa Savage, in a hair salon. Tiwa confronted Seyi Shay about comments she had made about her in the past. Even though Tiwa spoke the loudest, cursed, and had the most to say during the altercation, public favor still rested with her and Seyi Shay was once again trending for all the wrong reasons.

Seyi Shay and Tiwa Savage from altercation video

After such a tumultuous year in the public eye, Seyi Shay released her second studio album, Big Girl, and during press for that album, she stopped at Okay Africa where she gave an interview and was asked about these controversies. Seyi Shay's response to the question is sure to rile Nigerians up again. Here's what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

During the interview, Seyi Shay was asked: "Is it fair to say you were misunderstood?", to which she replied:

Of course. I feel like I’m the most misunderstood person in the industry but Big Girl will take them to school. They will understand.

Then she was asked "Do you think such misunderstanding from the public influences their reception of the music?" Seyi replied:

No, I think music speaks for itself. Music has its own communication level while the person behind the music is another story. I feel like people misunderstand me without actually trying to know me and it's typical of Nigerians to not take time to get to know somebody or something. They kind of follow the trend when one person says they don’t like you — without knowing why. We can be surfaced but also strong and determined to make whatever we believe in pop and that’s been proven with growth of Afrobeats.

She went on to say:

That’s what music is about for me. My aim is to connect with young girls that are going to become big girls one day and women that are not necessarily comfortable with being so open. I’m giving these people a voice in some way because I know I’m not the only one that has experienced some of these vulnerable moments in life. Sharing it helps to break the walls and the silence of people dying to tell their own story.

What do you think? Do you agree that Seyi Shay is the most misunderstood person in the industry and is hated on simply because Nigerians like to follow trends and hate on the person everybody hates, or do you disagree and think it's for a different reason she's not well liked? Let me know what you think by leaving a comment on my Facebook post. I'll be very interested in hearing what you think.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

interview

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.