Beat logo

Why I Love Ambient Space Music So Much

To space and beyond

By Emmanuel MotelinPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Artwork courtesy: Steve Burg

I have a confession to make. I love Ambient Space Music. I got into it when Interstellar came out. I was very touched by the story and how it’s so disturbingly relevant to our time. To me, it triggers very intense feelings of everything from peace to sadness. I cried when I first heard Interstellar’s Groove Addicts. I also love the softness of some of it, such as Hans Zimmer’s Our Destiny Lies Above Us. Others, such as Sid Acharya’s No Way Back sound peaceful and then triumphant. As if someone has completed a major mission and is now heading back home.

I know that it’s not exactly popular and some of my friends like to call me a space music geek. Maybe I am. But, to me, there is nothing else like it. It makes me feel as if I could take my own journey into outer space. More than that, I love the images it triggers in my head. For example, it often makes me picture myself as the old astronaut icon of MTV floating weightlessly into space. I love the idea of floating in space not caring what I may happen to run into. That would be my ultimate heaven. I could be having the worst day of my life and about ten minutes of listening to Space Ambient Music puts me right where I want to be.

I also love the idea of going on an epic space mission similar to Interstellar. I would hate to leave all my family and friends behind. But at the same time, I would be excited and in awe going on a mission to further help and bring peace to the world. Ambient Space Music helps me to imagine that I’m doing that but makes that movie in my head feel almost more real than my present life here on earth. And maybe it is but in another world.

Another thing that I love about Ambient Space Music is that it often takes me to worlds that are much more peaceful. There’s no focus on time, schedules, violence, or chaos. There’s only peace, stillness, and love. It makes me almost wonder why life here on earth isn’t like that. Mostly, though, it makes me imagine that life in space as peaceful, still, and loving. I don’t think that space necessarily has different dimensions. I think it’s the illusion of dimensions that seem different into one package. Ambient Space Music helps me to feel at one-if you will-with that concept.

When it doesn’t take me to space outright, sometimes I imagine that I’m floating in the sea staring up at the stars in the night sky.

Ambient Space Music has never gotten old to me. To me, it’s kind of like an essential of lifeline that I can’t live without. I often fall asleep with it on and would play it 24/7 if I could. Needless to say, it’s my idea of heaven. I also listen to it at work whenever I can and a few of my colleagues have asked me about it. I’m always more than happy to tell them about it when they do.

I honestly don’t know if there is anyone who is more into Ambient Space Music than I am. I have joined many groups on social media, etc. Most have told me that I’m the number one fan, which excites me. But at the same time, I wonder if anyone is as serious about it as I am.

Above all, Ambient Space Music helps me to calm my anxiety, it helps me to stay balanced and reminds me that love is still there.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Emmanuel Motelin

Tech nerd & cybersecurity pro captivated by storytelling. Enjoys crafting compelling blog stories & creating music but that`s not all. Learn more

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.