Beat logo

Who Is DOKTA?

An introduction

By DOKTAPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Most of you haven’t a clue who I am or what I’ve been involved in, and I’m ok with that; as DOKTA is the nickname given to me back in 1995 by a very close friend (an amazing musician himself), Graham Sillbigger. So let’s get down to why I’m here writing.

I’m a music producer, mix engineer, musician (play keys n synth), I have toured with some amazing musicians and produced a legend or two in my time (not saying who just yet) and as an artist, I’m currently signed to Ralph Lawson’s 2020 Vision Recordings.

The only way you’ll believe anything that I talk about simply boils down to the work I do. Have a listen to my album, which you can find on Spotify, and can check out my live sets on YouTube (this was a hard task, and something I’ve wanted to do for many years).

This album was by far the most impressive piece of work I had made by that time in my life. Took me 30 odd years to get here; not an easy path, yet I learnt a lot and I’m now willing to share all that I know. Oh, did I mention that I teach this stuff to young adults at various music colleges? Yeah, that’s a recent development in my life. ;)

I’ll keep this but brief for now. I’m just going to lay out what I plan to do on VOCAL.

I have been making and working with music, and I have seen things change, not only in the business, but in the studio too.

I started off with a bedroom setup, not having enough kit to make what was in my head; to being able to do all that I wanted on a laptop and a pair of speakers. The thing is I come from the days when you needed a fully kitted-out studio to create music that sounded amazing, and to me that just wasn’t right.

I made some silly moves in my life, which I’ll go into more detail in the near future as it is a lesson to learn and one I wish I didn’t have to. Still, if I didn’t take the path that I lived I wouldn’t be where I am today. Content, happy, and living my dream. I have achieved so much and am now proud of my work.

Anyway enough of me, we’ll get back to me another time. For now I want to focus on what I think is important if you have a passion for making music like I do.

I’m going to share my insight into how I think this should be done, my tricks, techniques and anything else that I think is relevant.

I have a fully kitted-out analog studio, and I’ll be doing some videos as well as text to accompany the videos.

Please, if there is something you’d like to ask or a suggestion of a topic to cover, then please let me know. I’ll be happy to make a lecture based on your questions.

Here, check out the Spotify link below. That’s my calling card and also my debut solo album.

https://open.spotify.com/artist/4h3ef4RUQJ1LQmPFxWNp7G?si=sQzA_bfHQly7iZexu_XnQQ

Enjoy and subscribe and tune in for my next installment.

Peace,

DOKTA

industry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.