Beat logo

When I aimed to be the Rockstar

Chasing Your Dreams: A Humorous Tale

By Beyond the BrightnessPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
When I aimed to be the Rockstar
Photo by Sam Moghadam Khamseh on Unsplash

Once upon a time, I was living in a small village. I was a free-spirited individual who loved to live life on my own terms. I loved to sing, dance, and play the guitar, but the villagers had other ideas for me. They wanted me to be a farmer, just like my father and grandfather before me. But I knew that wasn't the life for me.

One day, the village elder came to me and said, "Bob, it's time for you to settle down and take over the family farm. You can't spend your whole life singing and playing the guitar. It's not a proper job for a man."

I replied, "But I ain't what you want me to be. I have a passion for music and I want to pursue it."

The elder scoffed, "Music? That's not a real job. You'll never make a living off of it. You need to be practical."

I knew the elder was right, I couldn't make a living off of music, but I couldn't give up my passion either. So, I came up with a plan. I would start a band and we would play at the farmer's market every Saturday. The villagers would come to buy their produce and stay to listen to our music.

The plan was a success, and soon my band became the talk of the village. We played at all the local events and even got invited to play at the neighboring towns. The villagers were amazed at my success and some of them even started to pursue their own passions.

As my band became more popular, we started to gain fans from all over the village and beyond. People would come from far and wide to see us play, and we became known as the "Farmers Market Band." We even started to record our own music and sell it at our performances.

But the village elder wasn't impressed. He still believed that music was a waste of time and that I should be working on the farm. He even went as far as to try and ban us from playing at the market. But the villagers rallied behind us and the elder was forced to back down.

With our newfound fame and success, my band and I decided to take our music to the next level. We started touring different villages and towns, and soon we were playing in front of thousands of people. We even got invited to play at a music festival in the big city.

As we stood on stage in front of the huge crowd, I couldn't help but think back to the village elder and his words. I realized that I had become exactly what he didn't want me to be. But instead of feeling guilty, I felt proud. I had followed my dreams and had made a life for myself doing something that I loved.

And the villagers were proud of me too. They realized that chasing your dreams doesn't mean you have to give up on your roots. And that's when the elder realized that music is not a waste of time, it's a way to express oneself.

From that day on, the elder started to attend our performances and even requested for a song or two. I was happy that I could make him understand and change his perspective.

From being a farmer to a musician, I had proven that anything is possible if you have the determination and the passion to make it happen. And I ain't what anyone wanted me to be, but I am who I want to be.

In the end, I had proven that it's possible to chase your dreams and make a living doing what you love. I ain't what the villagers wanted me to be, but I was happy and that's all that mattered.

Moral of the story: Never let anyone tell you that you can't chase your dreams, just because it's not what they want you to be.

technoelectronicaconcertbassbands90s music80s music
Like

About the Creator

Beyond the Brightness

Hi, welcome to my story page. I write what I have experienced in life, its directly from my heart. We all are connected like the stars and hence we share so many emotions and feelings. Let's feel in those words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.