Beat logo

Whatever Lola Wants

Understanding your purpose

By DanaPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
Whatever Lola Wants

There are many songs that will remind me of a specific event or time in my life. However, there aren’t as many songs that I can say changed my life. Attaching the phrase “life changing” to a song is very bold in my opinion but when I think about which song deserves the title, the song “Whatever Lola Wants” comes to my mind.

This song was life changing!

If it were not for this song, I may not have ever known who I was and what I was meant to do in this world to feel complete.

The song Whatever Lola Wants is a part of the Broadway show Damn Yankees.

I believe the title is self-explanatory. Lola wants to always be in control, and she must have it all. In the scene where this song is played, she is showing off. Lola wants this man to know how powerful and persuasive she is.

The scene in this show where this song is played is the first scene I saw in this play and the only one I remember.

I was in Middle School at the time and our school was presenting this play.

I am pretty sure they posted audition information and announced the show dates but for some reason I never saw it or maybe I thought it wasn’t important, so I disregarded it. The only thing I remember was my teacher taking our class to the auditorium to see the show. I remember thinking that I did not want to go. I remember feeling disappointed as we approached the auditorium doors.

The doors opened and I heard this song. Still not impressed as we walked to our seats, I saw a girl that was dressed in a cute costume and her makeup and hair was perfect. This girl also had a beautiful voice and as I got closer, I realized that this girl was someone I knew. My heart dropped and I was shocked with excitement!

I expected to see a stage filled with adult actors. This girl was my age, on stage, singing and performing! The first thought that came to my mind once I recognized her was “Am I allowed to do this?” I also thought “I didn’t know I could do something like this.” In that moment my life changed.

I remember a feeling of not understanding my purpose even at such a young age. I was an obedient child and I was kind to everyone. I had friends that made me laugh and family that brought joy to my life but there was something missing. That moment in the auditorium changed me forever! I knew in that moment that I was supposed to perform. I learned in that moment that singing and dancing on stage was possible for me. I was a shy child so even with that epiphany I knew that putting myself out there in that way wouldn’t be easy. Regardless I was grateful that I found my calling. In High School I auditioned and performed in plays. I loved the creative process. Even when I was not on stage, I enjoyed being in that environment. I also loved the cast members and crew. I finally found a place where I fit in. Its funny how sometimes you don’t realize you are not fitting in until you do. Theater and the performing arts became my world. My love for Musical Theatre lead me to writing. Writing was a challenge and somewhat easier because I did not have to be seen. Writing expanded my creativity outlet. I could use my vivid imagination to create stories to share with the world. I loved writing and drawing pictures. I graduated High School and instead of continuing to expand creatively, I stopped. I learned so much about myself and I elevated the happiness in my life, so I am not sure why stopping was ever an option. I got caught up in the “real world.” In my real world you go to college and or get a job and start making money. I was successful. I made enough money to take care of myself and have a ton of fun. The world also taught me that I should marry someone. Thankfully I fell in love and got married. My life felt amazing! I worked a 9-5, came home, cooked dinner, spent time with my husband and went to bed. I did that every single day minus the weekends for a few years. I knew that I needed to go to work but once again I felt like there was more to my life than the routine, I was stuck in. One morning I woke up from a dream feeling fulfilled. I dreamt that I was performing on stage. I felt the love in the room and the applause sent chills through my body.

That dream made me remember the song What Lola Wants.

I was somewhat disappointed with myself for forgetting what brought my soul joy but nevertheless I persisted. I enrolled in acting classes and even though it felt like such an inconvenience it was fun and I felt great! I went on to expand my family.

I now have 2 beautiful children that require a lot of my attention. I dedicated most if not all my time to my family and once again I was hit with a familiar feeling. The song What Lola Wants spoke to me again. I started crafting, designing shirts and writing.

Today I am proud to say that I am author. Writing a book is one of my greatest accomplishments and not because I can say I am an author or show someone my books. Creating has always been nourishment to my soul. It gives my life a purpose. Even with my busy schedule I make time to create something several times a week. Sometimes I only need a few minutes.

I am so happy that my friend was brave enough to grace the stage with her talents!

The song Whatever Lola Wants changed my life forever and I am eternally grateful.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Dana

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.