Beat logo

What Would R&B and Hip-Hop Be Without Black Women?

My Favorite Black Women Rockin' The Music Industry

By AnjuhlaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
13
One of Normani's music videos.

R&B and Hip Hop might not be my favorite genres but, there are quite a few black women in these genres that I would like to put a spotlight on because r&b and hip hop wouldn't still exist if it weren't for them and I do love them. Some of these women are part black and quite a few are from New York[my hometown state]. Most of these women you've likely heard of but others you might want to check out their music after you read this.

Normani

She belonged to the girl group, Fifth Harmony, and doesn't have a major solo discography but, she's still great. Sis, I'm waiting for your album[as if she's reading this].

H.E.R.

She is known for always wearing sunglasses and her bass skills. She's even got her own bass model that you can buy.

Victoria Monet

She is known for being one of Ariana Grande's co-writer on a lot of Ariana's discography. I wrote about Victoria's latest album and Ari's album which she co-wrote (of course) in my favorite albums of 2020 so, if you'd like to check that out, the link is here .

Ester Dean

She is known for starring in the Pitch Perfect movie series, being a songwriter for the biggest hits, starring in animated movies. She has written for Rihanna and Nicki Minaj[ both mentioned below], Katy Perry, Chris Brown, Mary J.Blige, and countless others. I love watching her on Songland and seeing the way she songwrites. She seems like a sweetheart.

Rihanna

Her music is amazing and I'm patient but, anxiously waiting for her new music also. She is busy with her other great ventures but, she needs to spare some music cause we're missing it.

Mabel

She is multi-racial but, does have African heritage. She is the daughter of a singer/rapper that I had not heard of before knowing of Mabel, Neneh Cherry. Mabel is mentioned in my workout playlist post so, check that out on my profile if you'd like. Her debut mixtape is solely r&b whereas her debut album is pop and r&b. She frequently works with famous British African songwriter Kamille. I don't know Kamille well but I know she also works with Little Mix.

Stefflon Don

I don't know her as well as other artists mentioned but, I do like some of her hits. She is a British African rapper. She has worked with Mabel, Mariah Carey[mentioned below]Halsey, Demi Lovato, Bebe Rexha, and several notable artists.

Alicia Keys

She is seemingly one of the nicest, calmest people in the industry. She writes songs about empowerment and love and is an amazing piano player. She is the first famous New Yorker I'll be mentioning.

Mariah Carey

The 2nd noteworthy New Yorker singer I'll be mentioning. She is still amazing even though some would beg to differ. She has so many singing characteristics but, my favorite is her range.

Ella Mai

She had a mixed upbringing in the States and England. She sticks to the 90's style of R&B and kind of reminds me of a younger Alicia Keys.

Nicki Minaj

One of the most notable rappers and a famous New Yorker. She's also a good singer but, usually sticks to rap.

I do happen to have a black music playlist from some of these artists[cause they do include male artists also] so, if you'd like to have a listen click here. Also, I have these artists on several of my other playlists. I hope you enjoyed reading this and possibly found some new music to listen to. If you liked this, please give this a heart and share it with your friends if they would enjoy this. I greatly appreciate your support by reading this.

pop culture
13

About the Creator

Anjuhla

I like to write about pop culture[mostly music and movies], lifestyle,ocassional fiction stories, and other various topics.

Check out my other blogs if you'd like- https://anjuhla.wixsite.com/mysite/blog-1

Most socials @anjuhla57

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Tim Boxer4 months ago

    Thanks for sharing. Good to have these artists brought to the forefront

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.