Beat logo

What if Rocky Horror Show Time Warped into Halloween 2021?

And the playlist fit for Halloween Queens

By Savannah DaringflowerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Created by Sandra Szubert on Canva

Imagine you're at a Halloween party, and then BAM, black smoke appears, and suddenly the cast of "The Rocky Horror Picture Show" starts dancing across the room singing:

"Let's do the timewarp again!!!"

And you just can't help but join in with the madness.

Yep, this is my idea of a Halloween party.

So what if the cast time-warped and crashed a Halloween party this year...

Well, the least I could do was prepare a playlist for them!!

I love the original tracks from the "Rocky Horror Show" movie, so I wanted to incorporate that same vibe into my Halloween playlist.

Rocky Horror Show Vibes:

1. Eccentric

This movie was able to mix strange and sexy and make it look like a fashion statement. Just like "Lady Gaga – Monster". I mean, yeah her outfits are eccentric, but they're also hot as hell. You almost forget she sings things like:

"He ate my heart, he a-a-ate my heart (You little monster)"

Lady Gaga – Monster

2. Horror

Either a maid with dark dramatic makeup or a waitress dressed in all-black latex, there is something spooky about each character in the movie. But there's also something artistic about the horror aspect, so I thought "Billie Eilish - My Strange Addiction" matched this vibe:

"Deadly fever, please don't ever break

Be my reliever 'cause I don't self medicate

And it burns like a gin and I like it

Put your lips on my skin and you might ignite it

Hurts, but I know how to hide it, kinda like it"

- Billie Eilish - My Strange Addiction

Screenshot from Billie Eilish - My Strange Addiction Music Video

3. Erotic

Between the drag makeup, BDSM outfits, and the dark seduction of the main character, the movie is a literal representation of a dark fetish. So for this vibe, I chose: "G.U.Y - Lady":

"I'm aiming for full control of this love (of this love)

Touch me, touch me, don't be sweet

Love me, love me, please retreat

Let me be the girl under you that makes you cry

I wanna be that guy (G. U.Y.)"

- G.U.Y - Lady Gaga

4. Glam

Rocky Horror Show was one of the first movies that made glam and horror work. You almost forget about the horror aspect whilst getting seduced by the glamour of it. It's like when Taylor Swift took a dark turn and made the song: "Look what you made me do". There's something so intriguing about a good girl gone bad...

"Honey, I rose up from the dead

I do it all the time (I do it all the time)

I got a list of names, and yours is in red, underlined

I check it once, then I check it twice, oh!"

- Taylor Swift - Look What You Made Me Do

5. Theatrical

The theatrical vibe in Rocky Horror Show makes you literally want to sing and dance to death...

So I chose "Bad Romance- Lady Gaga". I mean, all of Lady Gaga's shows and videos are like theatrical performances, but this one, in particular, is iconic for its monster-like vibes.

"Rah, rah-ah-ah-ah

Roma, roma-ma

Gaga, ooh-la-la

Want your bad romance"

- Bad Romance- Lady Gaga

Oh, and in case the party guests do actually dance themselves to death, I've also included "Billie Eilish - Bury a friend" to the list...

"Step on the glass, staple your tongue (Ahh-ha)

Bury a friend, try to wake up (Ahh-ha)

Cannibal class, killin' the son (Ahh)"

- Billie Eilish - Bury a friend

The Playlist:

I don’t know about you but the thought of this Halloween party gives me the chills…in all the right ways...

playlist
2

About the Creator

Savannah Daringflower

I write stories that trigger daydreams and everything fun in between...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.