Beat logo

What I Heard Janet Say Was…

Part 1 :Documentary Review

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo courtesy NPR

When I realized this was four hours long, I almost decided not to watch it because as I have alluded to previously…

Janet was just “okay” to me.

::ducks from the myriad of stones being hurled at me::

But, I kinda made a promise to myself to keep writing even if the topic is challenging, and so I am gonna try to write objectively.

In other words, I’m tryin not to hate…🤣

What I am gonna say is A&E did a damn thing with keeping my interest.

It started with the camera angle, and because I’m kind of a superficial asshole, for the first half hour or so all I did was stare at Janet’s nose.

Not even the full nose though, y’all.

No double entendre intended 😉

I’m only talkin bout her left nostril because something obviously went awry there.

So after putting my glasses on and muting the TV 😉 so I could see better…

You can tell that’s definitely not Janet’s nose of origin.

What 🤷🏻‍♀️

We were ALL thinking it, don’t scowl at me. 🤣 cuz I spoke my truth about what I saw lol.

I got dizzy from the family flashback pics & performances & was getting tired of seeing Joe’s smug mug. I was JUST about to change the channel to Ladies Who List-ATL (aye Robin-lol)…

Photo Courtesy Bossip.com

…then they bring in James DeBarge.

Photo Courtesy: Married Biography

::standing ovation for A&E::

The DeBarge family ran neck & neck with the Jackson family as far as controversy & utter tragedy…

UNTIL…while watchin this documentary they air a commercial for…

The Biography of Bobby Brown

Photo Courtesy Headline.com

Hands Controversy & Tragedy trophy 🏆 to Bobby Brown

For now, cuz A&E be trippin… 🤣

How do I know A&E be trippin?

They found JaRule !!!

Photo Courtesy: Wikipedia

🤣🤣🤣

All I’ma say now is if they locate MC Brains & he appears with Janet or in a commercial for an upcoming show, ALL of the 🏆🏆🏆 go to A&E.

So James & Janet did NOT give their secret child to Reebie 🤷🏻‍♀️

Reebie rubs me the wrong way. I dunno why but she reminds me of someone who keeps a spreadsheet of family mistakes & secrets.

And did anyone notice the shade Janet was throwin at LaToya???

Like she forgot her in the family head count 😐

🌴🌴🌴

⬆️⬆️⬆️

That’s shade

🤣🤣🤣

Anyhow, anywho …after dragging this “where’s the baby” thing on entirely too long, I was JUST about to change the channel to Ladies Who List again …

When in slide the Shades & Fedoras, otherwise known as Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis!!!

My bad. Robin.

Jimmy Muthafuckin Jam!!! I had no clue you kept Rapunzel’s mane under your fedora!!! 😳

Photo Courtesy: Showbizcorner.com

And now I’m oddly fascinated. 🤭🤫

I honestly 🤯 can’t remember how part one ended & what hooked me into watching part two, so Ima take a moment to digress a bit.

I forgot all about Janet on Fame & that was my damn show because I had a serious crush on Gene Anthony Ray 🤣🤣🤣.

So of course I run to Google, aaaand RIP Gene 😢 (2003 -complications from stroke)

Photo Courtesy: Wikipedi

The Jackson variety show thingy gave me Jon Benet Ramsey vibes. Even though I am not a huge fan of Janet, it made me kinda I’ll to see her all made up like a Vegas hooker.

Joe was so grimey, but Janet & Stockholm syndrome looks accurate.

•It was odd how they kinda edited Joe’s interview into the documentary like he is still alive. At least that’s how it came off

•I completely forgot about Rene. 🤷🏻‍♀️

Photo credit: Secondhandsongs.com

But I ain’t forget that Ladies Who List-Atl episode re-airs tomorrow at noon

Until then✌🏼💜

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.