Beat logo

Vinyl Wishlist

List of albums I want on Vinyl

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Vinyl Wishlist
Photo by Eric Krull on Unsplash

Before the lockdown, I wrote a list of articles that I wanted to write on here on my wordpress blog. This was one of them. Whilst I didn’t do as much writing as I had hoped for, I am still proud of the little achievements and small word counts. My 10th book, a dystopian novel called Game of Mass Destruction got its first review on Goodreads and it’s a positive review.

I’ve had a few funny turns which made the doctor refer me to an epilepsy clinic in Oxford. My mental health is low too, feeling a lot more exhausted but with the help of my friends and music, I have my writing mojo back. So this is my list of vinyls that have been sitting around gathering virtual dust on my Amazon and Discogs Wishlist for ages.

Money has been tight too. So I've been trying to sell more books, write on here and flog some of my old stuff. I got something published in a magazine that I will get paid soon. I had to cancel my Spotify subscription. I'm not that sad about it, to be honest, I don't mind the ads that much and I always use shuffle.

Violator - Depeche Mode

Anyone who knows me well enough are aware that Depeche Mode are my favourite band. I have quite a few of their albums on vinyl, but not this one. It’s their most popular album and a perfect one from start to finish. Personal Jesus, Halo and Enjoy the Silence are great singles and I love the art craft that goes into it. I already own several albums on vinyl by Depeche, and it's feeling hallow without this one.

Resist - Within Temptation

This album is awesome. I think it’s one of their best records yet. It’s an exciting album that always has a lot of adrenaline. The Reckoning and Raise Your Banner are some of the best song they’ve done in years. Always loved how they try something new with every album. Saw them live during their Resist your in Manchester and it was exceptional. I thought Sharon sounded better live in Manchester than she did in Within Temptation’s official live albums.

Back to Black - Amy Winehouse

Back to Black is a really great album that always makes me think of Camden in London. It’s a shame what happened to her, because her music was amazing. Her death hit me really hard. Whenever I see Amy‘s tribute in Camden, I want to go home and listen to her music.

Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not - Arctic Monkeys

I know someone who thinks Alex Turner is hot. I like some of their songs, but I don't think I've ever listened to any of their albums yet. Judging by their songs, I think their albums would be great to listen to on a vinyl.

(What’s The Story) Morning Glory? - Oasis

It's a classic album that I think really captures the soul of Northern England.

Wonderland - Take That

Take That have done some really great albums since reuniting back in 2005. The last album I heard in full was Progress and that has been out a while ago now. I think Wonderland will be a great record too. They’re another great band to see live too, they really put on a show.

Ghost - Siobhan Donaghy

I have this digitally and on CD, and I still want it on vinyl, but it's so hard and expensive to find since it's not a mainstream release. I hope I can get it one day. I have so much love for this record.

Iron Maiden 1980

Have it on cassette and want it on Vinyl too. Prowler and Phantom of the Opera are gems from the Di’Anno era. I have Killers and Number of the Beast on vinyl, so I think I need to have their debut on vinyl as well to make the collection feel more in place.

After Hours - The Weeknd

They've been around for a while, but I recently discovered him on Spotify. I heard his songs on the radio and I love his vocals, they sound gentle. For some reason it reminds me of Micheal Jackson’s Off The Wall era. I think the cover is coll too with the blood on his teeth. I think it would fit in nicely in anyone’s vinyl collection.

list
3

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.