Beat logo

Valentine's day is for the Amazons.

Songs to build you up, and remember what a powerful woman you really are.

By Leah HarrisPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Valentines day.

As a retail worker, this holiday has put me in a defeated mood more than once. Showing up to work and every isle flipped to mush season. Red heart balloons strung about, pink heart shaped cookies, and endless love songs on the radio. It just reminded me of past disappointment.

I let other's happiness create a hole in me.

I didn't realize being single can be a superpower.

It took me 19 years to discover myself, and that I was beautiful standing tall on my own. Something just clicked one night, in a sweat filled room, bloody knuckles and elevated heart beat.

I took up kickboxing, at first to get out some pent up aggression, but then it turned into something else. Kickboxing became my dojo. My ring.

I found myself there.

Valentines day night 2014, I met up with other single women for our kickboxing class. My instructor turned up the music loud as we warmed up, and I could feel the adrenaline start to surge before we even started.

With each punch, a release.

With each kick, a memory forgiven and forgotten.

And with each jab, I felt confidence rise up within me.

I felt like an Amazon that day. Like Princess Diana herself.

Valentine’s Day shouldn’t make us hate ourselves for being single. It shouldn’t be a day to drink away and drown out old memories. Valentine’s Day should be our day to shine!

So buy yourself some dark chocolate, maybe some Moscato, and BLAST this playlist till you believe it.

Confident by Demi Lovato

I love Demi Lovato's fire.

She is such a badass in this music video, and it's clear to see her confidence. I chose this song because it empowers me to keep pushing myself, and believe in my power as a woman. Whenever I hear it, I want to kickbox. It makes me feel like a fighter.

Yellow Flicker Beat by LORDE

The first time I hear this song was at the end of Catching Fire from the Hunger Games series. Katniss was definitely a big role model of mine, and this song reminds me of her confidence.

I'm a princess cut from marble, smoother than a storm

And the scars that mark my body, they're silver and gold

My blood is a flood of rubies, precious stones

It keeps my veins hot, the fires find a home in me

Our scars make us beautiful. The lyrics like fire building up in Lorde as she's singing, speak of standing alone in a world that hurt her. I think a lot of women could relate to that, on Valentine's day especially.

Blank Space by Taylor Swift

Even if you don't like Taylor Swift, I bet you know all the words to this song. In this song, Taylor talks about the game of casual relationships, and how it will inevitably last forever, or end in flames. While it's not necessarily a "girl power" song initially, it's definitely a passion piece we can all relate to, and will all sing along to.

Raise your Glass by P!nk

RAISE YOUR GLASS! I love this song. Pink is the definition of Woman Power, and clearly displays that in the still below. Embrace everything about you, all your "flaws" and mistakes. "Raise your glass if you are wrong, in all the right ways."

Better by Haley Reinhart

I've adored Haley since her first days on American Idol, and since then she has released quite a few good hits about both love, and being confident in your own skin as a woman. This song demonstrates that if the relationship is not right, getting out of it really does make you better.

Rolling in the Deep by Adele

Ah, Adele.

In Rolling in the Deep, Adele reminisces over a relationship that was so close, but not enough. She talks about a fire rising up in her, and ladies, let's hang on to that feeling. Take that feeling to the bags. Punch it out (in a safe environment), and FEEL. Valentine's Day may inevitable make you feel sad, but you should let yourself feel. And Adele is a great way to do that.

What the Hell by Avril Lavigne

Didn't we all want to be Avril Lavigne at some point? While this song definitely shows unhealthy dating patterns, it is very empowering. It may also give you flashbacks to when the 2010's, where everything sounded like Avril and Green day. This is a great song to dance around your kitchen to, or with friends!

Stronger by Kelly Clarkson

Classic, classic, classic.

This is probably THE BEST song for anyone who has gone through a break up, and needs to rekindle her fire. Kelly speaks about how her relationship ending doesn't define her in the least, and that she is better by herself than with him.

Doesn't mean I'm lonely when I'm alone.

What doesn't kill you makes a fighter

Footsteps even lighter

Doesn't mean I'm over 'cause you're gone.

What a powerful statement from such a powerful woman.

Being a single woman can be glorious. It’s a time to find your power as a woman, to regain your confidence in yourself, and find what makes you brilliant! We are wonder women. We are powerful, beautiful, and full of value.

Don't let your light be dimmed because of this holiday. If anything, make it a day to let your own beautiful light shine and be seen, even if its just by you. Pamper yourself, throw on some red lipstick, dive into self care, and show yourself some love. You are worth it.

playlist
1

About the Creator

Leah Harris

Writer, blogger and artist. Inspirations for writing are Markus Zusak and Tyler Knott Gregson. Follow me on Instagram! @LeahNaturally

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.