Beat logo

Tunes to Chill you to the Bone...

Happy Hallowe’en...

By Victoria BamberPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read

Imagine this: a Hallowe’en gathering that involves a whole bunch of awesome friends (chatting and banter aplenty) with drinks in hand, sat foot tapping round a campfire. The surrounding woodland creaking and looming under a full moon, with various instruments being twanged and jammed to this playlist, creating a perfectly mixed potion for an epic all Hallows night..

It’s an unexpectedly sweet twist bringing back memories of favourite scary movies, evoking images from past party happenings, or instances when I was alone and a hidden gem was found in the deep waters of serendipity..

For me it’s a spot on concoction to begin the party before the surrounding woodland comes alive, and brings forth the nightmarish creatures stirred up by screams of delight..

So why pick these tunes? For the magic they manifest in evoking a feeling, a moment, an emotion in one way or other linked to the theme of Hallowe’en...

So here goes!

Jump In the Line, as soon as I say the words it just makes me want to watch Beetlejuice and dance like a loon, floating and staircase included!

Ghost Town takes me straight back to a pub I used to hang out in in my late teens, on the Isle of Wight, England. It was a local hangout for waifs and strays. It takes me back to my friends that were there, and one in particular, who not so long ago took his own life. So yeah, that song hits me and not in a nice way.

Rattling Bones just puts a smile on my face. It doesn't take me particularly anywhere. In fact, I only found this one recently, but it fits perfectly in this playlist so I’ll call it my wildcard.

I Put a Spell on You evokes a feeling of swirling and whirling and makes me want to sway haha!

Ring of Fire...wasn't sure about including this one, because at the moment the word ‘fire’ evokes something I don't want to remember...but I’ve decided to include it and own those feelings and turn it into something positive...

Coconut from the film Practical Magic...It takes me straight to that room, where they're all dancing around the table, having their Midnight Margaritas, and I'm with them dancing there too (if only!)...

Day-O! Another Beetlejuice one, with the freaky dinner party scene haha!

Wolf by First Aid Kit gives a sense of calm, a chilled vibe, and if I were really by that campfire, I'd be closing my eyes, and just immersing myself in this one...

My Boy Builds Coffins. I adore this song; loved it since I first heard it many years ago, when it came out on the Florence and the Machine album, Lungs. I like that it has a bit of a story to it and I imagine him making these coffins, quirking away...

Monument, by a group called Southern Tennant Folk Union. Probably not known by most, but definitely worth checking out. Sweet, beautiful, sad, I adore it.

Rising Sun and Hotel California. These are both songs that for some reason evoke for me images of ghosts, of the paranormal and creepy houses, and of the sadness and loneliness that comes with them.

Girl With One Eye from the same album As My Boy Builds Coffins. Another fantastic song, creeps me out and makes me squirm >_<!

Don't fear the Reaper. I think I’d put this in the same category as the Rising Sun and Hotel California. It sits somewhere well with them.

Little Ghost by the White Stripes, a beautiful song that evokes memories and all the feels of the film ParaNorman, one zombie film that my kids are allowed to watch (just!).

And the last one, Creepin’ In is to end on a high: Norah Jones and the awesomeness of Dolly Parton. And I love the laugh from Dolly at the end. Although it’s not meant to be ‘creepy’ it takes me to a cabin in the woods, rockin’ in a chair on a veranda, guitar in hand, fireflies dancing. I just had to add it as an end note.

I hope you enjoy listening to them. If you have any questions about the songs feel free to message me :) Thanks for listening ^_^ and Happy Hallowe’en... mwahhahahaha!

playlist

About the Creator

Victoria Bamber

Previously #wildgreensurvivalgirl now #wolfgirlcreates

https://wisdom.app/wolfgirlcreates/ask

https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100090424525141

https://www.youtube.com/@wolfgirlcreates

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Victoria BamberWritten by Victoria Bamber

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.