Beat logo

Top 5 Must Listen To's For Halloween

A list of (in my opinion) the best songs to listen to on Halloween.

By Rika LekayPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
5

Ever wanted to have music to fit a certain holiday or season? It seems that Christmas is really the only holiday that has a guaranteed musical genre. I have gone through my entire messy-and-all-over-the-place Spotify playlist and searched on Youtube for some interesting songs that you should definitely listen to on Halloween, or even just the month of October.

Coming in at number five... is quite a funny work of art.

5. "This Is Halloween" - Google Translated version

Unfortunately, this "song" is the only one that's available on Youtube only. It is quite hilarious, I definitely recommend you give it a watch if you're tired of "spooky music." However, due to its hilarity, it's made it's place here at the lowest possible spot in this Top 5. The rest of the songs will get creepier and scarier, I promise.

4. Look What You Made Me Do [By Taylor Swift]

Image of Taylor Swift's Look What You Made Me Do [Music Video]

Upon release of this song, it hit a world record of most views in a 24-hour period. Averaging 3 million per hour. Though, when I first listened to this song, my immediate reaction was "wow, finally a song to listen to on Halloween!"

The beat of this song. The lyrics. Even the vocals. All of these factors just screams "HALLOWEEN" to me. However, that's not the true meaning or intention of the song.

According to some research, it is speculated that the song's main themes are about "revenge" and "rebirth" into a smarter, stronger person. Many of Swift's fanbase believe that this particular song also calls out many rivals of Swift like Kanye West, Kim Kardashian, and Katy Perry.

However, even with the beat, lyrics, and vocals of this song, there are still songs that are better suited to be higher than this popular song, in my opinion.

3. Town of Salem Rap ft. Minx [By Boyinaband aka Dave]

This song is based off of a well-known social deduction game, known as Town of Salem. The game and the song came out in 2014. This rap is about the different roles that are available to play as in the game, though most commonly rapping about the murdering aspect.

This rap has quite an upbeat tune and quite catchy lyrics to be in slot three. Though, because this rap is about murdering people in different ways, I feel like it's quite justified to be placed here.

2. Dollhouse [By Melanie Martinez]

Dollhouse Music Video Image

Now, we're talking. This is an extremely creepy song and one that I have always listened to during October / Halloween.

The official music video helps place a spooky image into the viewer's mind, and whenever I hear "Dollhouse," I can't help but think of the iconic music video. Even if I am just listening to the audio files.

The "echoing" effect makes this song even creepier. Who knew that a song named "Dollhouse" would be so creepy sounding and perfect for Halloween?

However, there is still one song I believe is even spookier than Dollhouse.

1. Smoke and Mirrors [By Jayn]

The sweet melody, the pretty vocals, the creepy beat scream Halloween. This is a song about... murder.

According to research, this song is a reference to a 'Yandere.' Which is a Japanese term used to refer to a girl who is very sweet and quite innocent but suddenly changes into an aggressive and deranged murderer.

The story is that the yandere turns into a psychopath when she finds out her "future lover" who is just a crush loves someone else. So she typically eliminates any girl her crush talks to via murdering, so that eventually she and her crush will live together, forever.

Unfortunately, there is no music video to give out better visuals, but I'd say the audio is superb in giving off the best Halloween-esque creepy music vibe.

***

Additional Information:

- Keep in mind, these are just opinions I have. Everyone is allowed opinions.

- I hope the links work, this is my first time creating an informational-type piece.

- I do not own any of this music. All rights go to their respective owners.

- No hate to any of the artists who created the music. I'm just saying what I thought of when I first heard their song.

playlist
5

About the Creator

Rika Lekay

Hi! I'm currently 20 years old and I love to write short stories, poems, novels, and writing prompts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.