Beat logo

Top 5 Criminally Underrated Guitarists of the 80s

My picks for the most underrated guitarists of the hair metal and hard rock era

By Jeff NewmanPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 6 min read
80s Hair Metal and Hard Rock Band Logos

Music has been a massive part of my life for as long as I can remember. Thinking back to when I was just a small child in the early 1980s, my parents started me on my musical journey by gifting me my first Elvis Record - a compilation album called Burning Love. I've been hooked ever since.

Over the years, I have amassed quite a library of singers and bands that cross a plethora of genres. In the days when we used to carry around music on CDs and iPods, I would often joke with people that my collection spanned Sinatra to Slayer and everything in between. Throughout all that time, some bands have come and gone as my tastes have evolved and fads have changed, but one genre of music has always stood my test of time - the 1980s Hard Rock, aka Hair Metal scene.

My love affair with heavy guitar riffs inspired me to become an accomplished guitarist back when I was a lowly teen. In those days, I devoured every bit of tablature I could get my hands on, learning various tunes and honing my craft. At one point, I knew how to play the entire Metallica catalog from Kill 'em All to Reload - and, of course, I played the leads. Though I seldom made a dime from playing music, I have enjoyed jamming and leading bands - my last being my favorite, a Bon Jovi tribute band I put together called Heart n Dagger. Those were some amazing shows we performed.

Original lineup for my last band - Heart n Dagger

Alas, this article isn't about me; it's about the music that inspires me, or rather, the guitarists that inspire me. When people think of this musical era, several big-name guitarists inevitably come to mind: Slash, Kirk Hammet, Eddie Van Halen, and Joe Perry. And, yes, before some readers get in a huff, I consent that Kirk Hammet of Metallica fame is not a true Hair Metal guitarist but remember, I did throw in the catch-all Hard Rock genre.

Instead of regurgitating the same old trite of the best guitarists of all time where the aforementioned six-string aces would undoubtedly make the list, I wanted to focus more on the unsung heroes, the guys with a lasting influence on me. The players making this list may, indeed, rank atop other's quintessential Top-10 lists, but I've seen them lost in the shuffle more often than not. The fact these musicians don't get enough credit is absolutely criminal.

So, without further ado, on to my Top 5 underrated guitarists of the 80s Hard Rock and Hair Metal eras.

5. Dave "The Snake" Sabo - Skid Row

Dave "The Snake" Sabo

When Skid Row hit the scene in 1989, they hit arguably a cluttered and, soon to be, dying market for Hard Rock. Nirvana would release Nevermind two years later, and a new rock era would be ushered in. In the meantime, as far as 1989 is concerned, Skid Row rose from New Jersey obscurity to overnight fame. Most would attribute their meteoric rise to the gifted pipes of lead vocalist Sebastion Bach, but I always thought Dave Sabo never received enough credit. On that first self-titled record, Dave masterfully crafted gut-punching hard and heavy riffs, but those melodies on gems like 18 and Life and I'll Remember You solidified his spot on this list. Even to this day, when I need something to energize when I'm clanging and banging at the gym, I turn to this record. The twin guitar harmonies on the Youth Gone Wild anthem will keep the blood pumping.

4. Reb Beach - Winger

Reb Beach of Winger fame

Ok, so if you travel in enough Hard Rock circles and you bring up the name Winger you just might get a chuckle or two, but, in my estimation, this band is certifiably underrated for their time. On that first record, Mr. Reb Beach delivers some iconic riffs sure to get stuck in your head. From crunchy riffs to searing solos, this guitarist is often overlooked due to the syrupy connotations around Winger's lyrics. The fact he goes on to play with another iconic band, Whitesnake is all the more credit to the fame he has earned.

3. C. C. Deville - Poison

C.C. Deville of Poison fame

Coming to you straight from central Pennsylvania, this guitarist never looked for Nothing But a Good Time. Largely overshadowed by the outgoing frontman, Bret Michaels - yes, the one and the same from Rock of Love - C.C. Deville provided the soul and groove that made Poison tunes so damn catchy. His unique blend of rock, country, and blues came together with the scratch of his iconic pick scrape. Sadly, as the 80s Hair Metal era came to a close, C.C. became the butt of many jokes throughout the 90s, but that never deterred the rocker. If you are lucky enough to catch Poison live today, you'll see he's never skipped a beat.

2. Mick Mars - Motley Crue

Mick Mars, the Crue's elder statesman

Mick Mars, the eldest member of the world-renowned rock band, Motley Crue, is often seen as a quiet, soft-spoken guy - mostly cause he doesn't say much on stage, but this guitarist is one true badass. He can turn simple riffs that followed blues standard formats into some of the most recognizable hard rock tunes ever to assault our ears from the speakers of a 1987 Pontiac Firebird. The heavy chug of his palm muting played perfectly with Nikki Sixx's thumping bass and Tommy Lee's overzealous drum work. So many fabulous hits from this band, and it's hard to pick just one; however, this is where I will diverge from many true, hardcore Crue fans. Yes, Dr. Feelgood will go down as perhaps their all-time mega-hit record - who can argue with sales and a multi-year international tour - but, for me, Mick's true genius came with the self-titled 1994 album. I know this album is often hated since Vince Neil was not part of the lineup, but this record brings out the heavy-dropped C tuning that could have remade Motley Crue. While the band marches on, Mick has decided to retire for good. Hats off to you, Mick, and thanks for the memories!

1. Richie Sambora - Bon Jovi

Richie Sambora - Mr. Sambo, Mr. Bluesman

This is where I'm going to show my bias a bit. I have to admit; I am a huge Bon Jovi fan. In fact, my very first concert was seeing them in 1987 at the Capital Center in Largo, MD, on the Slippery When Wet tour. There is just something about Richie's playing that really speaks to me. I think it's the profound bluesy influence peppered throughout not only the band's super hits but also on his solo records - just one listen to Stranger in this Town or Hard Times Come Easy, and you'll know what I'm talking about. Guitar playing aside, Mr. Sambora was the heart and soul behind Bon Jovi's music. His innate ability to write music and help craft lyrics provides us with timeless compositions. The 80s were very kind to Bon Jovi with dual hit mega albums (Slippery When Wet and New Jersey), but we cannot forget the updated sound of the two 90s albums (Keep the Faith and These Days). These Days is my all-time favorite album from the band, showcasing the brilliance of Richie's blues influences.

Over the years, I have seen well over sixty Bon Jovi shows across numerous tours, and Richie always brought his A-game. Between Richie and Jon, we had one of the most dynamic frontman/guitarist combos - absolutely deadly when they were on fire. You are hard-pressed to go anywhere and not hear Livin' on a Prayer, You Give Love a Bad Name, Bad Medicine, or Wanted Dead or Alive and not find people singing along. Sadly, the years waned by, and Jon and Richie parted ways about a decade ago - the music of Bon Jovi never recovered from the divorce. If you see the band live now, there is a cheap carbon copy replacement for Richie - in fact, there are often at least 3, none of them as good. So, when you hear Jon ask the crowd in 2023 Do we got it anymore - just answer, "Not without Richie, you don't."

So there you have it, folks, my top 5 criminally underrated guitarists of the 80s Hard Rock and Hair Metal era. Some have stood the test of time and keep marching on, while others may have faded into obscurity. No matter what the musical winds of change bring us, these guys will always be on rotation in my musical catalog.

song reviewspop culturemetallistinstrumentshistoryfact or fictionconcertcelebritiesbands80s music

About the Creator

Jeff Newman

I am reading and writing enthusiast with a wide variety of interests ranging from history to horror and anything in between. I am a guitarist, self published author, movie buff, travel enthusiast, and cat dad to 13 awesome fur babies.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jeff NewmanWritten by Jeff Newman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.