Beat logo

Todd's Playlist The Teen Years..

Enjoy!

By Todd SimmonsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Fair warning some will be spice girls even though I'm a boy which means

Spice Girls SpiceWorld Album

This was the first album I actually asked my parents to buy for me. My middle school friends we all obsessed over the movie too My favorite was Stop I played that song obsessively. Thinking back on it now I think I took the line "I need somebody with the human touch" But in my true teen years before Napster came along spice girls were my go to albums to de stress.

WHAM Careless Whispers

OMG this is still my best karaoke song. Even though it's not my absolute favorite but it was my karaoke night slayer I could hit the high "but now who's gonna dance with me"? I get chills I miss karaoke.

Michael Jackson Who is It Dangerous Album

My best guy friend introduced me to the madness and magic of being a Michael Jackson fan and later I would copy his dances and then battle each other. But as someone who struggled with body issues and depression all my life the lines "And it doesn't seem to matter and it doesn't seem right, the will has brought no fortunes still I cry alone at night don't you judge me by my composure because I'm lying to myself"

Rod Stewart Forever Young

Still, I don't know how not to call it my song for my father.

TLC "No Scrubs" Fanmail

Who wasn't a horny teenager that wasn't drooling at the absolute sexiness of TLC? But then I used the lyrics of the song in my real life, I make sure I ain't no god damned scrub to a girl.

Spice girls Mama & Boys II Men A Song For Moma

These songs were for my mother. My mother once sweetly told me that my brother and sister dedicated songs to her as well I know my brothers was 2pac "Dear Mama" but I honestly can't remember my sisters.

Mariah Carey Number Ones

I remember vividly trying having s Walkman trying to turn up songs that had "Someday" "When you Believe" "Hero"

Celine Dion Because You Loved Me

A song that I was obsessed with and I honestly don't know why.

Coolio "Gangsters Paradise"

First yes, I loved the movie "Dangerous Minds it was the first R rated movie I saw as a teen. Heard it then and got the single. My neighborhood in south Tucson at the time was in the middle of daily gang wars I mean I fell asleep to the sound to someone getting shot for years.

Cher After All

This is still my favorite Cher song and i was obsessed with the movie Chances Are. If your a true Robert Downey Jr. fan it should come be a natural favorite.

Fleetwood Mac Tell Me Lies

Picture it me as a toddler (I loved the golden girls lol) my brother and sister took full advantage of the birth of MTV and they would put me in front of the music videos and just be in my own world. But evidently this was my favorite song and because I was still learning to talk instead of singing "tell me lies" I would sing "tell me whys"

So in the birth of Napster I looked up the song and I played it for a while to see why this was my favorite and I couldn't figure out why. Good song though.

Michael Jackson "You Are Not Alone "

OMG this song was released the week when I moved from Buffalo to Tucson as a teen. I missed my grandma and my friends, cousins, etc so much that I cried my eyes out listening to this song. I actually stopped listening till 2001. This song was literally tied to the biggest change in my life.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Todd Simmons

I'm 36 I live in Tucson Arizona originally from Buffalo .

I'm hoping to take on second a career writing i may have bad grammar but I have alot to .say

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.